Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 15 June 2021

14 for Galway and 11 for Waterford in 2017 All-Star hurling nominations

Cork, Tipperary, Wexford, Kilkenny and Clare also have nominees.

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Galway have 14 players nominated for the 2017 All-Star hurling awards with beaten finalists Waterford having 11 nominations.

Austin Gleeson and Pauric Mahony with Gearoid McInerney and Padraic Mannion Galway and Waterford players battling for possession. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

The two sides lead the way in the 45-player shortlist that has been released this morning ahead of the awards, which have new sponsors this year in PWC, at the Convention Centre in Dublin on Friday 3 November.

The only member of the Liam MacCarthy winning side that started in the All-Ireland final not to be nominated is Galway’s forward Johnny Glynn, who was making his first 2017 championship start in the decider.

10 of Waterford’s starting team from the final are nominated, along with defender Conor Gleeson who missed the game through suspension.

Munster champions Cork are next in line with eight players represented with All-Ireland semi-finalists Tipperary having five players selected.

Wexford are rewarded for an encouraging season with four nominations with the Kilkenny duo of Cillian Buckley and TJ Reid, and Clare’s Shane O’Donnell also in the frame.

Seven of last year’s All-Star winning team are nominated on this occasion – Daithi Burke, Padraic Maher, Jamie Barron, David Burke, Austin Gleeson, Seamus Callanan and John McGrath.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Galway captain David Burke with Tipperary captain Padraic Maher Galway captain David Burke and Tipperary captain Padraic Maher before this year's league final. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

The list of nominees in full is:


  1. Colm Callanan (Galway)
  2. Anthony Nash (Cork)
  3. Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford)

Kieran Kingston celebrates with Anthony Nash Anthony Nash celebrates Kieran Kingston after the Munster final. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


  1. Daithí Burke (Galway)
  2. Gearóid McInerney (Galway)
  3. John Hanbury (Galway)
  4. Padraig Mannion (Galway)
  5. Aidan Harte (Galway)
  6. Adrian Tuohy (Galway)
  7. Noel Connors (Waterford)
  8. Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford)
  9. Darragh Fives (Waterford)
  10. Conor Gleeson (Waterford)
  11. Philip Mahony (Waterford)
  12. Mark Coleman (Cork)
  13. Colm Spillane (Cork)
  14. Damien Cahalane (Cork)
  15. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)
  16. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)
  17. Matthew O’Hanlon (Wexford)
  18. Cillian Buckley (Kilkenny)

Matthew O’Hanlon celebrates a score Wexford captain Matthew O'Hanlon. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


  1. David Burke (Galway)
  2. Johnny Coen (Galway)
  3. Jamie Barron (Waterford)
  4. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)
  5. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Cork)
  6. Lee Chin (Wexford)

Jamie Barron celebrates scoring his sides opening goal Waterford's Jamie Barron celebrates netting against Cork. Source: James Crombie/INPHO


  1. Joe Canning (Galway)
  2. Conor Cooney (Galway)
  3. Joseph Cooney (Galway)
  4. Conor Whelan (Galway)
  5. Cathal Mannion (Galway)
  6. Pauric Mahony (Waterford)
  7. Kevin Moran (Waterford)
  8. Michael Walsh (Waterford)
  9. Austin Gleeson (Waterford)
  10. Alan Cadogan (Cork)
  11. Patrick Horgan (Cork)
  12. Conor Lehane (Cork)
  13. John McGrath (Tipperary)
  14. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)
  15. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)
  16. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
  17. Shane O’Donnell (Clare)
  18. Conor McDonald (Wexford)

Shane O'Donnell scores his second goal Shane O'Donnell fires to the net for Clare against Limerick. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Source: The42 Podcasts/SoundCloud

Over five months on, Rock lands the Croke Park free that Dublin need most

The 8 best footballers to grace the 2017 All-Ireland senior football championship

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel