James Crombie/INPHO Corofin's Michael Farragher hit a key late point today for GMIT.
# Knockout Blow
Corofin duo help GMIT send 2013 champions DIT out of Sigerson while Athlone beat Trinity
Today’s matches took place in Tuam Stadium and Ringsend.

GMIT 0-14
Dublin IT 1-9

GMIT DUMPED DUBLIN IT out of the Sigerson Cup today as a dogged display from Sean O’Dea’s charges at a freezing Tuam Stadium booked them a place in the quarter finals.

The game looked to be heading for extra time when Ciaran Reddin levelled affairs with two minutes to go, until GMIT deservedly secured victory with late scores from Corofin duo Michael Farragher and Ronan Steede.

Michael Farragher and a double from Offaly’s Niall Darby put the hosts into an early lead, before Conor Madden kicked two quick scores to get the visitors off the mark.

Andy Glennon sent GMIT 0-5 to 0-2 ahead with fifteen minutes gone, before Dublin IT then hit the net from Madden’s well taken effort to square the game. Scores from Cathal Compton and Conor Grimes saw the 2013 winners lead 1-4 to 0-6 at half time, with Madden harshly black carded late in the half.

Conor Grimes Morgan Treacy / INPHO Louth's Conor Grimes played for DIT today. Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

After the restart four in a row from the hosts thanks to both Farragher’s, Holloway and Meenaghan saw GMIT lead once more, as Reddin began to shine for the visitors but they couldn’t shake off their battling opponents.

When Reddin notched his third late on extra time looked a certainty before Steede and Michael Farragher sent the underdogs into the last eight.

Ronan Steede and Daithi Burke celebrate after the game James Crombie / INPHO Ronan Steede (left) was in action for GMIT today. James Crombie / INPHO / INPHO

Scorers for GMIT: Alan Meenaghan (0-2f), Niall Darby (0-1f) 0-3 each, Ronan Steede (0-1f), Michael Farragher, Martin Farragher 0-2 each, Andy Glennon, Paddy Holloway 0-1 each.Scorers for Dublin IT: Conor Madden 1-2, Ciaran Reddin 0-3, Cathal Compton, Bryan McMahon (0-1f), Conor Grimes (0-1f), Robbie Gaughan 0-1 each.


1. Conor Nolan (Milltown, Galway)

2. Eddie Egan (St. Brigid’s, Roscommon)
3. Barry O’Farrell (Carrickedmond, Longford)
4. Darren Moran (Headford, Galway)

5. Shane O’Malley (Michael Glaveys, Roscommon)
6. Paddy Holloway (Castledaly, Westmeath)
7. Stephen Burke (Caherlistrane, Galway)

8. Michael O’Brien (Carraroe, Galway)
9. Ronan Steede (Corofin, Galway)

10. Niall Darby (Rhode, Offaly)
11. Michael Farragher (Corofin, Galway)
12. Stephen McDonnell (Mayo Gaels, Mayo)

13. Martin Farragher (Corofin, Galway)
14. Andy Glennon (Michael Glaveys, Roscommon)
15. Alan Meenaghan (Headford, Galway)


17. Kevin Nally (Caherlistrane, Galway) for McDonnell (30)
18. Martin Shaughnessy (Kilkerrin/Clonberne, Galway) for Meenaghan (45)
19. Cian Donohue (St. Brigid’s, Offaly) for Burke (57)
21. James Madden (Gowna, Cavan) for Moran (60)


1. Conor Ferris (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)

2. Oisin Manning (St. Judes, Dublin)
3. Brian Power (Ratoath, Meath)
4. Shane Clayton (Ballyboden-St. Enda’s, Dublin)

5. Darren O’Reilly (Ballyboden-St. Enda’s, Dublin)
6. Ciaran Reddin (St. Maurs, Dublin)
7. Shane Dowling (St. Patrick’s, Meath)

8. Shane O’Connor (St. Sylvesters, Dublin)
9. Cathal Compton (Strokestown, Roscommon)

10. Bryan McMahon (Ratoath, Meath)
11. Conor Grimes (Glen Emmets, Louth)
12. Enda Flanagan (Castlerahan, Cavan)

13. Conor Madden (Gowna, Cavan)
14. Thomas O’Connor (Clane, Kildare)
15. Paul Brogan (St. Oliver Plunketts-Eoghan Ruadh, Dublin)


24. Robbie Gaughan (Ballinteer St. John’s, Dublin) for Madden (black card, 28)
17. Aran Waters (Ballboden-St. Enda’s) for Grimes (44)
18. Eoin Fletcher (St. Maurs, Dublin) for O’Reilly (46)
23. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna, Dublin) for Compton (52)

Referee: Marty Duffy (Sligo)


Athlone IT 3-10
Trinity College 0-10

ATHLONE IT BOOKED a first round clash against UCD this afternoon in Ringsend with their goalscoring ability proving crucial in today’s win over Trinity College.

The winners were ahead 2-5 to 0-5 at the interval thanks to goals from Kieran Kilcline and Cillian Fitzgerald before Kieran Martin pounced for their third goal in the second-half.

Cox stars as UCC claim 15 point win over CIT in Sigerson opener while NUIG also triumph

After losing his wife to cancer, Armagh manager planning charity match to honour her memory

Your Voice
Readers Comments