This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 14 December, 2018

Ireland left with just 2 natural strikers after Ipswich star ruled out

David McGoldrick played the full 90 minutes of the Boys in Green’s 3-1 loss against Mexico last Thursday.

David McGoldrick played for Ireland against Mexico last Thursday.
David McGoldrick played for Ireland against Mexico last Thursday.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Updated at 20.08

IRELAND HAVE BEEN left with just two natural strikers following news this evening that David McGoldrick has been ruled out of Sunday’s World Cup qualifier against Austria.

The Ipswich star sat out training today with a knee injury and a scan subsequently confirmed he would be unavailable for Sunday’s game at the Aviva Stadium.

The news means Ireland now have just two fit natural strikers to choose from — Jonathan Walters and Daryl Murphy — ahead of their pivotal upcoming match.

O’Neill has, in the past, experimented with winger James McClean operating in a more advanced role in the side, and the 65-year-old coach may be tempted to do so again at some stage of this weekend’s Group D encounter.

Aberdeen’s Adam Rooney and Kevin Doyle of Colorado Rapids were both included in the provisional Ireland squad to face Austria but neither made the final cut.

Shane Long, meanwhile, was forced to pull out of the squad after sustaining a broken metatarsal while playing in Southampton’s Premier League match against Middlesbrough last month.

In-form Cork City star Sean Maguire has been touted for a call-up in recent weeks, but O’Neill resisted the urge to include the 23-year-old in his latest squad, citing the youngster’s lack of experience at international level.

Republic of Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph, Keiren Westwood, Colin Doyle.
Defenders: Cyrus Christie, Alex Pearce, Richard Keogh, Shane Duffy, John O’Shea, Kevin Long, Andy Boyle, John Egan, Stephen Ward.
Midfielders: Aiden McGeady, Eunan O’Kane, Glenn Whelan, Harry Arter, Conor Hourihane, Alan Browne, Robbie Brady, Jeff Hendrick, Daryl Horgan, Wes Hoolahan, Callum O’Dowda, James McClean, Jonny Hayes.
Forwards: Jonathan Walters, Daryl Murphy.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

‘I’m not going to be part of your debate’- O’Neill refuses to be drawn on goalkeeper speculation>

Former Spurs skipper Mabbutt ‘stable’ after heart surgery at age of 55>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Fennessy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel