Dublin: 8°C Saturday 16 October 2021

Here are the dates and venues for the Irish rugby team's 2016 summer tour

Ireland are off to face the Springboks next June.

Image: Colm O'Neill/INPHO

CAPE TOWN, JOHANNESBURG and Port Elizabeth will host the three Tests in Ireland’s 2016 summer tour of South Africa.

Ireland, who have never won a Test match on the Springboks’ home soil, will bid to right that wrong with games on three consecutive weekends next June.

The first Test takes place in South Africa’s oldest rugby stadium, Newlands Stadium in Cape Town, on 11 June before the action moves to the famous Ellis Park in Johannesburg on 18 June.

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth will host the third and final Test on 25 June.

The tour is Ireland’s first in South Africa since they lost 2-0 in 2004. Since then, Ireland have won four of the six Test matches between the sides.

South Africa v Ireland

First Test:

DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Saturday 11th June, 2016

Second Test:

Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Saturday 18th June, 2016

Third Test:

Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
Saturday 25th June, 2016

Conor Murray and Keith Earls are back in the red of Munster tomorrow evening

Best and Pienaar on the bench as Ulster name team to face Dragons

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel