Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 20 October 2020

Cantwell captain as Ireland Women make 10 changes after New Zealand victory

The centre’s partnership with Grace Davitt will continue for the third game in eight days.

Grace Davitt and Lynne Cantwell's brilliant centre partnership continues.
Grace Davitt and Lynne Cantwell's brilliant centre partnership continues.
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

LYNNE CANTWELL HAS been named captain for Ireland Women’s final Rugby World Cup Pool B fixture against Kazakhstan tomorrow in Marcoussis.

The outside centre is again joined by Grace Davitt in midfield meaning that unit is the only area not disrupted by 10 changes made from the monumental win over New Zealand on Tuesday.

The need for change is understandable as head coach Philip Doyle made just a solitary change for the Black Ferns test four days after the hard-fought victory over the USA.

Captain Fiona Coghlan heads up a powerful looking bench despite the absence of goal-kicker Niamh Briggs.

Jackie Shiels comes into the fullback role with Vikki McGinn and Hannah Casey completing an all new back three with Alison Miller and Ashleigh Baxter among the replacements.

Nora Stapleton in in reserve too. So Tania Rosser will fill the number 10 jersey with Larissa Muldoon named her half-back partner.

The pack sees six changes after its exertions against the world champions. Hooker Gillian Bourke and back row Paula Fitzpatrick are the two retained, albeit the latter moves from blindside to number eight.

Ireland v Kazakhstan (KO 12.00 Irish time):

15. Jackie Shiels (Richmond RFC/Exile)
14. Vikki McGinn (Blackrock/Leinster)
13. Lynne Cantwell (Richmond RFC/Exile) Capt
12. Grace Davitt (Cooke/Ulster)
11. Hannah Casey (Saracens/Exiles)
10. Tania Rosser (Blackrock/Leinster)
9. Larissa Muldoon (Bristol/Exile)
1. Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemians/Munster)
2. Gillian Bourke (UL Bohemians/Munster)
3. Kerrie Ann Craddock (Saracens/Exiles)
4. Laura Guest (Highfield/Munster)
5. Orla Fitzsimons (St Mary’s College/Leinster)
6. Sharon Lynch (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
7. Siobhan Fleming (Tralee/Munster)
8. Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary’s/Leinster)


16. Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemians/Leinster)
17. Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
18. Sophie Spence (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
19. Claire Molloy (Bristol/Connacht)
20. Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
21. Alison Miller (Portlaoise/Connacht)
22. Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster).

Analysis: Black Ferns broken by Ireland’s clever attacking at World Cup

Close shave for Women’s Rugby S&C coach after All Blacks vow

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel