Former Leinster lock Louis Magee elected new IRFU president

The Bective Rangers clubman continues a long-standing tradition by taking over from Pat Fitzgerald.

Outgoing President Pat Fitzgerald [R] with the IRFU's new man, Louis Magee.
Outgoing President Pat Fitzgerald [R] with the IRFU's new man, Louis Magee.
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

FORMER LEINSTER SECOND ROW Louis Magee has been elected as the new President of the IRFU, replacing the outgoing Pat Fitzgerald.

Bective Rangers clubman Magee played for the eastern province between 1973 and 1979, and was picked for an Ireland trial in ’79. He was club captain at Bective on three separate occasions and acted as Director of Rugby at the the Dublin club before being elected its president in 1997.

From there, Magee moved into the Leinster administration, rising to the position of Branch President in 2003/04, the same season he began working with the IRFU.

His involvement with Irish rugby’s governing body since then has involved roles such as Chairman of the Performance Committee, IRFU representative to the Exiles Committee and being a member of the Domestic Game Committee.

Magee becomes the 127th president of the IRFU, and continues a long-standing tradition of Bective men taking up the position, following in the footsteps of John Hamilton O’Conor [1911-'12], William G. Fallon [1949-'50], Michael Cuddy [1993-'94] and John Lyons [2008-'09].

The new president’s grandfather, also named Louis Magee, captained Ireland to their 1889 Triple Crown.

Seven of Ireland’s U20 World Cup squad recruited to Leinster academy

Ireland Women centre Murphy striving for perfection at World Cup

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: