This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 22 October, 2019

Jones back in the Munster mix after injury lay-off

Felix Jones, Mike Sherry and Tommy O’Donnell have been included in Munster’s 28-man squad to face Benetton Treviso.

Felix Jones, training with Munster in CIT, Cork this morning.
Felix Jones, training with Munster in CIT, Cork this morning.
Image: ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

FELIX JONES COULD make his first Munster appearance in over eight months against Benetton Treviso in the RaboDirect Pro12 this Saturday.

Jones returned for Shannon against Young Munster in the AIL last weekend, his first action since he damaged ankle ligaments against France in August, dashing his hopes of a place in Ireland’s World Cup squad.

The full-back is joined in Munster’s 28-man squad by his recovery room counterparts, Mike Sherry and Tommy O’Donnell, both of whom have been out of action since before the new year.

O’Donnell limped out of December’s Pro12 defeat against Ulster with a knee injury, while Sherry returned to full training last month as he continued rehabilitation on an ankle injury which has sidelined him since October.

Munster fly out to Italy tomorrow, but Tony McGahan will have make do without international trio Paul O’Connell, Donncha O’Callaghan and Conor Murray, who are unavailable.

Ronan O’Gara, Donnacha Ryan and Peter O’Mahony have all been included. Keith Earls had been released back to the province but is to stay in Limerick with his partner and newborn daughter.

Munster Squad: Marcus Horan, Wian du Preez, Stephen Archer, John Ryan, BJ Botha, Denis Fogarty, Damien Varley, Sean Henry, Mike Sherry, Donnacha Ryan, Billy Holland, Mick O’Driscoll, Tommy O’Donnell, Dave O’Callaghan, Peter O’Mahony, James Coughlan,Paddy Butler, Duncan Williams, Tomas O’Leary, Cathal Sheridan, Ronan O’Gara, Scott Deasy, Simon Zebo, Johne Murphy, Lifeimi Mafi, Danny Barnes, Denis Hurley, Felix Jones.

Identity crisis: Is the Leinster v Munster rivalry a hindrance to Ireland?

Rumbling on: IRFU not happy with timing of Paris return

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: