Kerry's Marc Kelliher and Dan McCarthy hug after the victory. Bryan Keane/INPHO
Close contest

Rebels unable to halt Kerry's winning streak as Kingdom reach Munster minor football final

Cork lost out by a single point in tonight’s semi-final at Austin Stack Park.

Kerry 1-11
Cork 1-10

Jason O’Connor reports from Austin Stack Park

KERRY’S WINNING STREAK at minor level continues for a 26th game but only after they were given a massive fright by Cork this evening — needing to be defensively strong in the face of strong Rebel pressure throughout.

The visitors had the aid of the breeze in the first half but it was Kerry who found the
back of the net in the seventh minute through Paul Walsh for an early 1-1 to 0-0 advantage.

Cork started to dominate midfield through Niall Hartnett, in particular, as they went ahead for the first time in the 26th minute after four Conor Corbett points and two from Aodhan Ó Luasa made it 0-6 to 1-2.

The Rebels had numerous goal chances in the first period with the crossbar and Kerry defender Colm Moriarty denying Corbett on two occasions as a free from Walsh levelled the game at 1-3 to 0-6 at half-time.

Conor Corbett celebrates scoring a goal Cork's Conor Corbett celebrates scoring a goal. Bryan Keane / INPHO Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

Cork got the first score of the second period through Harnett but Kerry hit six
consecutive points between the 37th and 44th minute to go ahead by 1-9 to 0-7 with an assist from Patrick D’Arcy to Walsh in the 42nd minute the pick of that run.

Kerry led by 1-10 to 0-10 entering injury time but Corbett looked to have given Cork extra-time with their goal before substitute Jack O’Connor fisted the winning point for the Kingdom at the end of a dramatic finish.

Scorers for Kerry: Paul Walsh (1-3, 2f), Dan McCarthy, Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoich (2f) and Jack O’Connor (0-2 each), Darragh Rahilly and Jack Kennelly (0-1 each)

Scorers for Cork: Conor Corbett (1-4), Aodhan Ó Luasa (0-4, 4f), Niall Hartnett and Jack Kelliher (0-1 each)


1. Marc Kelliher (Glenflesk)
2. Conor Flannery (Dingle)
3. Kieran O’Donoghue (Legion)
4. David Mangan (Laune Rangers)
5. Colm Moriarty (Annascaul)
6. Dan McCarthy (Kenmare Shamrocks)
7. Dan Murphy (Rathmore)
8. Darragh Rahilly (Rathmore)
9. Darragh Lyne (Legion)
10. Paul Walsh (Brosna)
11. Paul O’Shea (Kilcummin)
12. Killian Falvey (Annascaul)
13. Patrick D’Arcy (Glenflesk)
14. Jack Kennelly (Ballydonoghue)
15. Ruaidhrí Ó Beaglaoich (An Gaeltacht)


18. Jack O’Connor (Beaufort) for Rahilly (40)
20. David Dineen (Rathmore) for Kennelly (54)
19. Sean Quilter (Austin Stacks) for D’Arcy (55)


1. Diarmuid Doody (Buttevant)
2. Dylan Connolly (Glanworth)
3. David Buckley (Newcestown)
4. Cian O’Donovan (Glanmire)
5. Francis Cronin (Cullen)
6. Diarmuid Phelan (Aghada)
7. Eoin Nation (Nemo Rangers)
8. Niall Hartnett (Douglas)
9. Joseph Harte (Douglas)
10. Hugh Murphy (Eire Óg)
11. Dara O’Sullivan (St Finbarrs)
12. Evan Cooke (Ballincollig)
13. Sean McDonnell (Mallow)
14. Aodhan Ó Luasa (Naomh Aban)
15. Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers)


24. Michael O’Neill (Buttevant) for McDonnell (27)
23. Jack Kelleher (Canovee) for O’Sullivan (44)
21. Gavin Carey (Buttevant) for Harte (46)
20. Richard Lombard (Ballyhooley) for Murphy (55)
19. Joseph O’Shea (Urhan) for O’Donovan (57)

Referee: Sean Lonergan (Tipperary)

Underdogs is coming back to TG4 – and they’re looking for the next big stars

Stephen Rochford: ‘I don’t see them being a particularly dirty team to be honest’

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel