This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Friday 19 April, 2019

Minor winners and Munster U21 captain added to Kerry squad for All-Ireland junior semi-final

Kerry take on Leitrim at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday.

KERRY CONTINUE THEIR bid to complete a three-in-a-row of All-Ireland junior football titles on Saturday and they have added a few underage winners to their squad ahead of the semi-final tie with Leitrim.

Kerry's Brendan O'Sullivan line's up for the team photo The Kerry junior footballers take on Leitrim on Saturday. Source: Donall Farmer /INPHO

The Kerry starting fifteen is unchanged from the Munster final where they came back from nine points down to defeat Cork after extra-time.

Corner-forward Tomás Ó Sé and wing-forward Philip O’Connor were the scoring stars in that game in Páirc Uí Rinn as they hit 2-4 and 2-3 respectively from play.

But the Kerry management have added to their subs with Billy Courtney, Brian Sugrue, Graham O’Sullivan and Dara Ó Sé all named in the squad that will travel to the Gaelic Grounds to face Leitrim.

Courtney was between the posts for Kerry’s 2015 and 2016 All-Ireland minor final wins, with O’Sullivan also involved as a defender in those successful teams.

The versatile Courtney then started at midfield as Killarney school St Brendan’s won the last two Hogan Cup crowns.

Eoghan O'Brien and Billy Courtney celebrate after the game Billy Courtney celebrates Kerry's 2015 All-Ireland minor final win Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Sugrue won an All-Ireland minor medal with Kerry in 2014 while he captained the county’s U21 side to Munster glory last April.

Brian Sugrue lifts the trophy Brian Sugrue lifts the trophy after Kerry's Munster U21 success. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Ó Sé joins five other An Ghaeltacht club mates in the 24-man squad.

Saturday’s junior tie is the curtain-raiser for the All-Ireland senior Round 4A qualifier between Cork and Mayo.


1. Tomás Mac an tSaoir (An Ghaeltacht)

2. Eamon Kiely (Brosna)
3. Jack Maguire (Listowel Emmets)
4. Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh/Glencar)

5. James Walsh (Knocknagoshel)
6. Michael Foley (Ballydonoghue)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Roibéard Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)
9. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia)

10. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
11. Jeff O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)
12. Eanna Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht)

13. Killian Spillane (Templenoe – captain)
14. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets)
15. Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)


16. Billy Courtney (Dr Crokes)
17. PJ Mac Lámh (An Ghaeltacht)
18. DJ Murphy (Gneeveguilla)
19. Brian Sugrue (Renard)
20. Graham O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses)
21. Liam Carey (Beaufort)
22. Ivan Parker (Churchill)
23. Stephen O’Sullivan (Templenoe)
24. Dara Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

McGrath, Mooney and Kennedy return as All-Ireland champs Tipp gear up for quarter-final

Cork U21 and sub senior keeper to start in All-Ireland final on Sunday in Páirc Uí Chaoimh

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: