This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 18 °C Wednesday 15 July, 2020

Son of Cats great DJ amongst 8 St Kieran's players in Kilkenny side to face Westmeath

Mullingar is the venue for tomorrow’s game.

Michael Carey (left) and captain Adrian Mullen in action for Kilkenny tomorrow.
Michael Carey (left) and captain Adrian Mullen in action for Kilkenny tomorrow.
Image: INPHO

THE SON OF Kilkenny great DJ Carey is amongst eight players from the St Kieran’s team that lost the recent Croke Cup final, who will start for Kilkenny in the Electric Ireland Leinster minor hurling championship tomorrow.

Kilkenny travel to Mullingar to take on Westmeath in the opening round clash that throws in at 12pm.

Michael Carey is full-back with Tommy Ronan, son of ex-Kilkenny forward Adrian, alongside him at corner-back.

They are joined in the starting side by five St Kieran’s colleagues who started in the Croke Cup final loss to Our Lady’s Templemore. Captain Adrian Mullen, Eoin O’Shea, Sean Ryan, Ted Drea and Daithi Barron all start in attack.

Wing-back Brian Staunton didn’t feature for St Kieran’s in that final loss but did play in the semi-final success against St Brigid’s Loughrea.

Three other St Kieran’s players are named amongst the Kilkenny substitutes in Dean Mason, Killian Egan and Eoghan Moylan.

Four of the Kilkenny starting players were part of the Kilkenny CBS side that lost to St Kieran’s in February’s Leinster colleges decider. Goalkeeper Ben Maher, centre-back Conor Flynn and the midfield duo of Niall Brassil and Jordan Molloy were all part of that team.


1. Ben Maher (O’Loughlin Gaels)

2. Tommy Ronan (Graigue Ballycallan)
3. Michael Carey (Young Irelands)
4. Darragh Walsh (Piltown)

5. James Brennan (Erins Own)
6. Conor Flynn (Graigue Ballycallan)
7. Brian Staunton (Thomastown)

8. Niall Brassil (James Stephens)
9. Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels)

10. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks – captain)
11. Eoin O’Shea (O’Loughlin Gaels)
12. Niall Brennan (Lisdowney)

13. Sean Ryan (Graigue Ballycallan)
14. Ted Drea (Young Irelands)
15. Daithi Barron (Thomastown)


16. Dean Mason (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
17. Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels)
18. John Dowd (Erins Own)
19. Killian Egan (Graigue Ballycallan)
20. Richie Hennessy (Glenmore)
21. Sean Boyd (Dicksboro)
22. Ross Connolly (Erins Own)
23. Eoghan Moylan (Dicksboro)
24. Jack Kelly (Barrow Rangers)

Extended Panel

25. Oisin Phelan (Galmoy)
26. Padraic Mullen (Danesfort)
27. Luke Murphy (James Stephens)
28. Diarmuid Phelan (Danesfort)
29. Ronan Buckley (O’Loughlin Gaels)
30. Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
31. Conor Heary (O’Loughlin Gaels)
32. Johnny Manogue (Dicksboro)
33. Jesse Roberts (Graigue Ballycallan)
34. Jim Ryan (The Rower Inistioge)
35. Evan Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

4 changes to Louth team for rematch with Tipperary in Division 3 football league final

Kildare make 13 changes for final with Galway as Banty names Wexford side for league decider

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: