This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Saturday 4 April, 2020

Walsh, Maher and Morrissey all return as Cats prepare to face All-Ireland champions in Salthill

Kilkenny take on Leinster and All-Ireland champions Galway at Pearse Stadium this weekend.

BRIAN CODY HAS named his starting fifteen as Kilkenny make the trip to Pearse Stadium on Sunday to face All-Ireland champions Galway.

Brian Cody Kilkenny manager Brian Cody. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

This weekend’s meeting is the first time the Tribesmen will enjoy home advantage since they began competing in the Leinster championship a decade ago.

In a major boost for the visitors to Salthill, boss Cody welcomes back Enda Morrissey, James Maher and Walter Walsh, all of whom were not available for last weekend’s win against Offaly.

Richie Hogan also returns and is named on the bench.

Kilkenny have not been defeated by Sunday’s opponents in championship hurling in six years.

Richie Hogan Richie Hogan has been named on the bench for Sunday's clash. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The last time Cody’s charges lost against Galway was the 2012 Leinster final, when his side suffered a 2-21 to 2-12 defeat at Croke Park.

Kilkenny come into Sunday’s Round 3 fixture on the back of consecutive Leinster championship round-robin wins, defeating Offaly 2-19 to 1-13 at Nowlan Park last Sunday.

Kilkenny XV vs Galway

1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
3. Padraig Walsh Tullaroan)
4. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)

5. Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own)
6. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)
7. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)
9. James Maher (St Lachtains)

10. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)

13. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
14. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
15. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens)

Subs: 16 Darren Brennan (St Lachtains), 17 Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 18 Conor O’Shea (Clara), 19 Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge), 20 Conor Browne (James Stephens), 21 Lester Ryan (Clara), 22 Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), 23 Pat Lyng Rower (Inistioge), 24 Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge), 25 Richie Hogan (Danesfort), 26 Bill Sheehan (Dicksboro)

Galway XV vs Kilkenny

1. James Skehill

2. Adrian Tuohy
3. Daithi Burke
4. John Hanbury

5. Padraic Mannion
6. Gearoid McInerney
7. Aidan Harte

8. Johnny Coen
9. David Burke (Capt.)

10. Cathal Mannion
11. Joe Canning
12. Joseph Cooney

13. Conor Whelan
14. Conor Cooney
15. Brian Concannon

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Laois make three changes ahead of Westmeath clash

Derek McGrath names Déise side to face Clare with key men sidelined

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Aaron Gallagher

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel