Thursday 2 February 2023 Dublin: 10°C
©INPHO/Morgan Treacy Colin Fennelly was in impressive form for Kilkenny today.
# Goals Galore
Kilkenny beat Tipperary in titanic 10-goal thriller
Séamus Callanan and Colin Fennelly each grabbed a hat-trick.

Kilkenny 5-20

Tipperary 5-14

KILKENNY HAVE BEATEN arch-rivals Tipperary by six points in a titanic Allianz National Hurling League Division 1A tie at Nowlan Park this afternoon.

Colin Fennelly scored 3-5 from play for the Cats against a Tipp side that had a 3-6 haul from Séamus Callanan, including five points from placed balls.

Kilkenny’s win is their first of the 2014 League campaign as the Noresiders lost narrowly to All-Ireland champions Clare in their opening fixture.

Tipp, meanwhile, will be disappointed to have lost a ten-point lead that was built up in an impressive first half and in the process, their unbeaten record this year is now at an end.

In front of 8,651 spectators, Tipp played with the breeze in the opening half and with 14 minutes on the watch, they had already scored 3-3.

Noel McGrath, Jason Forde and Callanan raised green flags for the visitors before Fennelly scored the first of his hat-trick in the 24th minute, after TJ Reid’s shot had crashed off the crossbar.

And yet Tipp went on to establish their biggest lead of the game, 4-9 to 1-8, approaching half-time.

Callanan struck for his second goal in the 27th minute but Henry Shefflin finished beautifully for Kilkenny four minutes later and at the break, Tipp were 4-9 to 2-9 clear.

The scene was set for a wonderful second half and in a repeat of last year’s League final, these ancient rivals didn’t disappoint.

Kilkenny’s third goal was smashed home by Fennelly in the 44th minute but Callanan responded in kind for Tipperary six minutes later.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

Kilkenny finally got level in the 56th minute when Fennelly rammed home another picture-book goal to tie the scores at 4-14 to 5-11.

The sides were level on three further occasions before promising full-forward Mark Kelly booted home Kilkenny’s fifth goal with two minutes of normal time remaining.

Now 5-17 to 5-14 in front, Kilkenny kicked for home and points for influential sub Richie Hogan, Fennelly and Hogan again clinched the win for Brian Cody’s battlers.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Colin Fennelly 3-5, Henry Shefflin 1-5 (0-5f), Walter Walsh 0-5, Mark Kelly 1-1, Richie Hogan 0-2, Padraig Walsh & TJ Reid 0-1 each.
Scorers for Tipperary: Séamus Callanan 3-6 (0-3f, 0-2 65s), Noel McGrath 1-3, Jason Forde 1-0, Michael Cahill 0-2, Brendan Maher, James Woodlock & Paddy Murphy 0-1 each.

KILKENNY: David Herity (Dunnamaggin); Willie Phelan (Dunnamaggin), Kieran Joyce (Rower-Inistioge), Brian Kennedy (St Lachtain’s); Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Brian Hogan (O’Loughlin Gaels), Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan); Lester Ryan (Clara), Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan); Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon), Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Henry Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown), Mark Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels), TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks).

Subs: Paul Murphy (Danesfort) for Phelan (26), Richie Hogan (Danesfort) for B Hogan (h.t.), Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro) for T Walsh (h.t.), Eoin Larkin (James Stephens) for Farrell (53), Joe Brennan (St Patrick’s) for Fennelly (70).

TIPPERARY: Darren Gleeson (Portroe); Paddy Stapleton (Borrisoleigh), Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons), Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill); Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch), Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg Annacarty/Donohill), Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields); Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields); James Woodlock (Drom & Inch); Kieran Bergin (Killenaule), Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Éire Óg), Brendan Maher (Borrisoleigh); Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch), Jason Forde (Silvermines).

Subs: Patrick Maher (Lorrha/Dorrha) for Forde (51), John O’Dwyer (Killenaule) for Bergin (60), Denis Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) for S McGrath (64), Michael Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg) for Murphy (67), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) for O’Brien (70).

Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork).

Your Voice
Readers Comments