Killian Spillane hit 1-3 today for UCC. Tommy Dickson/INPHO
Late Late Show

Kerry's Spillane nets injury-time penalty to hand 14-man UCC dramatic Sigerson win over Garda College

Sean O’Shea hit 0-5 as UCC advanced to face NUI Galway.

UCC 1-12
Garda College 2-7

John Fallon reports from Templemore

KILLIAN SPILLANE WAS the hero for UCC when he blasted home an injury-time penalty to snatch a dramatic victory in this Sigerson Cup clash today.

Garda College looked set for a famous win when Jonathan Ryan edged them in front as the game slipped into stoppage time at the JK Brackens club grounds in Templemore.

But UCC, who played over half the match with 14 men after corner-forward Gary Murphy picked up a second yellow card, did not give up and were rewarded when Carlow referee John Hickey awarded a penalty after Spillane was fouled.

The Templenoe clubman, son of Kerry legend Tom, kept his composure and blasted the ball into the top right corner.

It was tough luck on a Garda College side who recovered from a slow start to draw level after seven minutes when Ryan drilled home a goal.

Points from Tommy McDaniel, Peter Kelleher and Darren Gallagher pushed Garda College clear before UCC rallied and two efforts from Spillane and one from Kevin Crowley levelled again.

Tommy McDaniels Thomas McDaniels in action for Westmeath against Wexford in last year's Division 4 league final. Tommy Dickson / INPHO Tommy Dickson / INPHO / INPHO

The sides turned around deadlocked at 1-5 to 0-8 and after exchanging points, Garda College hit the front with a 46th penalty from Tommy McDaniel.

But Kerry’s Sean O’Shea continued his great week and the Kenmare man led the way as UCC clawed their way back, creating the opportunities which saw them level six minutes from as he found the range either side of points from Spillane and Stephen Sherlock.

Sean O'Se Kenmare's Sean O'Shea hit 0-5 for Kerry today. Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

Garda, who also finished with 14 men when Alan Gaughan was black-carded in the dying seconds with all six subs having been used, looked set for a quarter-final tie with NUIG when Ryan struck a superb score as the game slipped into stoppage time.

But in a final attack Spillane was fouled and then composed himself to slot home the winner with an expertly-taken penalty.

Scorers for UCC: Killian Spillane 1-3 (1-0 pen), Sean O’Shea 0-5 (0-2f), Gary Murphy, Jack Kennedy, Kevin Crowley, Stephen Sherlock 0-1 each.

Scorers for Garda College: Jonathan Ryan, Thomas McDaniel (1-0 pen) 1-2 each, Darren Gallagher, Peter Kelleher, Declan Meehan 0-1 each.


16. Micheal Martin (Nemo Rangers, Cork)

2. Fionnain Clifford (Waterville, Kerry)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue, Kerry)
30. Michael McSweeney (Newcestown, Cork)

6. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet, Cork)
21. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers, Cork)
23. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig, Cork)

10. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials, Tipperary)
17. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil, Kerry)

4. Briain Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht, Kerry)
12. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare, Kerry)
7. Kevin Flahive (Douglas, Cork)

13. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere, Cork)
19. Cian Dorgan (Ballincollig, Cork)
18. Killian Spillane (Templenoe, Kerry)


22. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarr’s, Cork) for Dorgan 50
26. Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty, Cork) for Clifford 54

Garda College

1. Seamus Murphy (Templeglantine, Limerick)

2. Rory O’Connor (Galway)
3. Sean Gaul (St Anne’s, Wexford)
4. Kieran Histon (Cobh, Cork)

5. Killian Daly (Mullingar Shamrocks, Westmeath)
6. Tom Featherstone (Oran, Roscommon)
7. Paul Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks, Galway)

8. Ciaran Russell (Éire Óg, Clare)
9. Darren Gallagher (Granard, Longford)

23. Eoin Cleary (St Joseph’s Miltown Malbay, Clare)
11. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael, Cork)
12. Gary Rodgers (St Columba’s, Longford)

13. Jonathan Ryan (Kilkerrin-Clonberne, Galway)
14. Declan Meehan (Cavan Gaels, Cavan)
15. Tommy McDaniel (Ballinagore, Westmeath)


10. Shane Cunningham (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin) for Cleary (38)
26. Alan Gaughan (Athlone, Westmeath) for Russell (44)
22. Eoghan Duffy (Louth) for Kelleher (48)
19. Shane Ryan (Clare) for Meehan (52)
17. James Morris (Arva, Cavan) for Featherstone (55)
24. Gene Casey (Kiskeam, Cork) for McDaniel (60)

Referee: John Hickey (Carlow)

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

Clare and Limerick forwards key as UL see off Cork IT to book Sigerson quarter-final spot

Man of the moment! David Clifford inspires IT Tralee to first Sigerson win in 11 years

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel