Ladies football All-Stars put on an exhibition in Bangkok with a couple of cracking goals

The 2016 team edged out their 2017 counterparts in sweltering conditions.

2016 All-Stars 7-19

2017 All-Stars 7-18

Emma Duffy reports from the Chulalongkorn University Stadium, Bangkok

THERE WERE 14 goals and some impressive football on show throughout a pulsating TG4 All-Star exhibition match in which Ephie Fitzgerald’s 2016 team claimed bragging rights in sweltering conditions.

all stars pic teams The 2016 and 2017 All-Star selections. Source: Jerome Quinn/LGFA

Just a single point separated the sides at the death, with some of Dublin’s TG4 All-Ireland winning side leading the way for the 2016 selection in 37 degrees temperatures at the Chulalongkorn University Stadium in Bangkok.

2017 senior Players’ Player of the year Noelle Healy was one who shone brightly for the winners on the day, finishing with 3-2, while Dublin team-mates Lyndsey Davey (2) and Sinead Aherne also netted goals, along with Cork’s Orla Finn.

Armagh’s Aimee Mackin and Donegal’s Yvonne Bonner collected two goals each for the 2017 team, while Aisling Doonan, Niamh Hegarty and Niamh McEvoy found the back of the net too.

It was a game played at a remarkable pace despite the sizzling heat and one which had a mixture of everything. Not only was there some excellent score-taking, the saves on show from Ciara Trant, Martina O’Brien and Noelle Gormley were also top class.

Another interesting battle was in midfield, with Mayo’s Aileen Gilroy and Fiona McHale among those to impress as they went head-to-head.

The first quarter was an exciting one as the 2016 team finished with two goals courtesy of Dublin’s star forwards.

Healy palmed into the net with just one minute on the clock while Sinéad Aherne followed suit just before the whistle sounded to make it 2-8 to 0-10.

Monaghan’s Ciara McAnespie was another to keep the scoreboard ticking over while Mackin, Doonan and Bonner were among those to split the posts for the 2017 team.

Source: LadiesFootballTV/YouTube

Healy was on fire once again in the second quarter, bagging two goals in quick succession before Orla Finn found the back of the net for the 2016 team’s fifth goal.

At the other end, Donegal’s Niamh Hegarty and Mackin rattled the net as the scoreboard read 5-12 to 2-15 at half-time.

On the restart, and fresh from captaining DCU to O’Connor Cup glory, Tipperary’s Aishling Moloney sprung to life collecting 0-3 to spur the 2016 team on.

At the other end, Doonan fired home while Mackin continued to impress.

And despite the soaring temperatures, the impressive performance continued into the final quarter as players from both sides capped the goal-fest.

Lyndsey Davey accounted for two of the 2016 team’s, while Bonner, Niamh McEvoy and Mackin slotted home at the other end to close proceedings.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

TG4 Ladies Football All-Star Tour 2018 - 2016 All-Stars v 2017 All-Stars Exhibition match -  Saturday 17th March Dublin duo Lauren Magee and Sinéad Aherne in action against each other. Source: Piaras Ó Mídheach/SPORTSFILE

But it was too little, too late for Mick Bohan’s 2017 contingent as Fitzgerald’s charges held out for a narrow win.

2016 scorers: Noelle Healy 3-2, Lyndsey Davey 2-1, Orla Finn 1-2, Sinead Aherne 1-1 (0-1f), Aisling Moloney & Ciara McAnespie 0-3 each, Fiona McHale 0-2, Sharon Courtney, Mairead Wall, Ciara O’Sullivan, Aoife McAnespie & Karen Guthrie 0-1 each.

2017 scorers: Aimee Mackin & Yvonne Bonner 2-3 each, Aisling Doonan 1-3, Niamh McEvoy 1-2 (0-1f), Niamh Hegarty 1-0, Sarah Rowe 0-2, Nicole Owens, Eimear Scally, Emma Spillane, Lorraine Scanlon & Aileen Gilroy 0-1 each.

2016 panel: N Gormley (Sligo), M Ambrose (Cork), B Stack (Cork), L Caffrey (Dublin), S Goldrick (Dublin), A McAnespie (Monaghan), S Finnegan (Dublin), F McHale (Mayo), S Courtney (Monaghan), N Healy (Dublin), C O’Sullivan (Cork), M Delahunty (Waterford), C McAnespie (Monaghan), S Aherne (Dublin), O Finn (Cork), M Wall (Waterford), M Dunford (Waterford), K Guthrie (Donegal), A Moloney (Tipperary), L Davey (Dublin).

2017 panel: C Trant (Dublin), E Spillane (Cork), S Tierney (Mayo), M Carter (Mayo), C Kelly (Kerry), C Hegarty (Donegal), R Phelan (Cork), A Gilroy (Mayo), L Scanlon (Kerry), A Mackin (Armagh), N Hegarty (Donegal), N Owens (Dublin), A Doonan (Cavan), N McEvoy (Dublin), Y Bonner (Donegal), M O’Brien (Cork), A Desmond (Kerry), S Burke (Galway), L Magee (Dublin), S Rowe (Mayo), E Scally (Cork).

Referee: Seamus Mulvihill (Kerry).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

LIVE: Corofin v Nemo Rangers, All-Ireland senior club football final

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel