Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Sunday 11 April 2021

11 for Dublin and 10 for Cork in the 2014 Ladies Football Allstar nominations

The All-Ireland finalists both lead the way.

Image: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

DUBLIN MAY NOT have won the All-Ireland ladies football title but they’ve bagged 11 Allstar nominations, one more than champions Cork.

The 45-player shortlist has been announced today for the 2014 TG4 Allstar awards with Dublin and Cork leading the way while semi-finalists Galway and Armagh received four nominations each.

Cora Staunton is one of three Mayo nominees and she will be aiming for her tenth award which would leave her as the joint record holder along with Kerry’s Mary Jo Curran. Cork captain Briege Corkery will be aiming for her eighth Allstar award while several other Cork players are already multiple Allstar winners with Angela Walsh, Bríd Stack and Valerie Mulcahy all having five to their credit while Deirdre O’Reilly and Geraldine O’Flynn have four apiece.

Intermediate champions Down have three nominees with beaten finalists Fermanagh have two. The other nominee from the intermediate grade is a Leitrim player. Defeated Munster senior finalists Kerry have two nominees as do Laois and Monaghan while Tyrone have one nominee.

The Cork team and Eamonn Ryan with the cup after the game The Cork celebrate their All-Ireland final win. Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

2014 TG4 All Star Award Nominees

Goalkeeper: Ciamh Dollard (Laois), Cliodhna O’Connor (Dublin), Linda Martin (Monaghan).

Defenders: Rachel Ruddy (Dublin), Roisin Phelan (Cork), Mairead Tennyson (Armagh), Angela Walsh (Cork), Eliza Downey (Down), Sorcha Furlong (Dublin), Bríd Stack (Cork), Amy Bell (Mayo), Leah Caffrey (Dublin), Vera Foley (Cork), Marcella Monahan (Fermanagh), Maggie Murphy (Laois), Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork), Emer Flaherty (Galway), Sinead Goldrick (Dublin), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork), Sinead Burke (Galway), Siobhan McGrath (Dublin).

Midfield: Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh), Caroline Little (Fermanagh), Briege Corkery (Cork), Fiona McHale (Mayo), Annette Clarke (Galway), Bernie Breen (Kerry).

Forwards: Noelle Healy (Dublin), Annie Walsh (Cork), Sinead McCleary (Armagh), Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork), Fionnuala McKenna (Armagh), Gemma Begley (Tyrone), Sarah Houlihan (Kerry), Cora Courtney (Monaghan), Carla Rowe (Dublin), Valerie Mulcahy (Cork), Lyndsey Davey (Dublin), Barbara Hannon (Galway), Sinead Aherne (Dublin), Cora Staunton (Mayo), Kyla Trainor (Down), Lindsay Peat (Dublin), Aine Tighe (Leitrim), Aileen Pyres (Down).

– First published 7 October, 8.54am

Cork and Kilkenny dominate Camogie Allstar nominations

VIDEO: An Alan Brogan bullet, a Mossy hat-trick and other weekend Dublin SFC highlights

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel