Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 4°C Wednesday 21 April 2021

Leinster and Munster name teams for Friday's B&I Cup quarter-final showdown

The two provinces meet at Donnybrook tomorrow afternoon.

LEINSTER AND MUNSTER have named strong teams for their British and Irish Cup quarter-final showdown at Donnybrook tomorrow afternoon [KO 3pm], with a number of players from Ireland’s U20 side set to be involved.

Noel McNamara Leinster 'A' coach Noel McNamara. Source: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

Leinster head coach Noel McNamara has been able to call on a number of senior players, including Barry Daly, Mick Kearney and Ian Nagle, for the game while Bryan Byrne will captain the home side.

Byrne will be partnered in the front row by his brother Ed, with Vakh Abzaladze — who made his senior debut against Treviso in December — named at tighthead.

Kearney and Nagle provide considerable experience in the engine room while Josh Murphy, who has made seven starts for the province this term, starts in the number eight position.

McNamara, who was also Ireland’s coach for the U20 Six Nations, includes Tommy O’Brien in a back three which also contains Daly — who misses out on selection for Sunday’s Champions Cup quarter-final against Saracens — and Jack Kelly.

Gavin Mullin and Conor O’Brien, who has made two senior appearances this season, form the ‘A’ team centre pairing, while four more U20 internationals – Ronan Foley, Hugh O’Sullivan, Harry Byrne and Sean O’Brien — are among the Leinster replacements.

As for Munster, head coach Peter Malone has named 12 senior players in his XV as the province continue their bid to retain the title they won for the second time last year.

Dave Johnston Dave Johnston captains Munster. Source: Bryan Keane/INPHO

Dave Johnston captains the southern province for the trip to Dublin, with Stephen Fitzgerald, Ronan O’Mahony, Bill Johnston, Kevin O’Byrne, Brian Scott, Darren O’Shea, Dave O’Callaghan, Conor Oliver and former Leinster prop Jeremy Loughman all named to start.

Winger Calvin Nash, who has been used regularly by Johann van Graan this season, is one of eight academy players involved, with centre Alex McHenry and Ireland U20 number eight Jack O’Sullivan included in the XV.

Tickets for the game can be purchased at the gate for €15/10 for the stand, and €10/5 for the terrace.


15. Jack Kelly
14. Tommy O’Brien
13. Gavin Mullin
12. Conor O’Brien
11. Barry Daly
10. Ciarán Frawley
9. Charlie Rock

1. Ed Byrne
2. Bryan Byrne
3. Vakh Abdaladze
4. Mick Kearney
5. Ian Nagle
6. Óisín Dowling
7. Peadar Timmins
8. Josh Murphy


16. Sean McNulty
17. Peter Dooley
18. Michael Bent
19. Ronan Foley
20. Hugh O’Sullivan
21. Harry Byrne
22. Sean O’Brien


15. Stephen Fitzgerald
14. Calvin Nash
13. Dave Johnston (captain)
12. Alex McHenry
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Bill Johnston
9. Jack Stafford

1. Jeremy Loughman
2. Kevin O’Byrne
3. Brian Scott
4. Sean O’Connor
5. Darren O’Shea
6. Dave O’Callaghan
7. Conor Oliver
8. Jack O’Sullivan.


16. Mike Sherry
17. Ciaran Parker
18. John Foley
19. Jack Daly
20. John Poland
21. Alan Tynan
22. Jack Power.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Aviva Stadium in line to host Champions Cup semi-final as venues announced

Grand Slam momentum with O’Mahony as Munster captain returns

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel