Strauss will captain the side of the first time. Morgan Treacy/INPHO
Team news

Richardt Strauss to captain Leinster for the first time as Dave Kearney returns

Leo Cullen has named his side for the trip to Italy.

LEINSTER HEAD COACH Leo Cullen has named his side as they get set to face Benneton Treviso at Stadio Monigo on Sunday (kick off 12.30pm).

The Blues are looking to keep pace with Munster and the Ospreys near the top of the Guinness Pro12 and will, of course, be again without their Six Nations contingent.

In their absence, Richardt Strauss will captain the side for the first time and he’s joined in the front row by Peter Dooley and Michael Bent.

At lock, Mick Kearney and Ian Nagle start with Dominic Ryan, Dan Leavy and Jack Conan making up the pack.

Dave Kearney will start for the first time since October and he’s joined in the back three by Zane Kirchner at full-back and Adam Byrne on the right wing.

A St Michael’s combination of Noel Reid and Rory O’Loughlin fill the 12 and 13 jerseys respectively while Jamison Gibson-Park is partnered by Ross Byrne in the half backs.

Mike Ross makes his first match day squad since the away trip to Zebre in November and he is joined on the bench by Joey Carbery who injured his ankle back in December.

There is no TV or radio coverage of the game.


15. Zane Kirchner (78)
14. Adam Byrne (14)
13. Rory O’Loughlin (14)
12. Noel Reid (74)
11. Dave Kearney (107)
10. Ross Byrne (14)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (18)

1. Peter Dooley (29)
2. Richardt Strauss CAPTAIN (138)
3. Michael Bent (77)
4. Mick Kearney (16)
5. Ian Nagle (7)
6. Dominic Ryan (109)
7. Dan Leavy (29)
8. Jack Conan (42)

16. Bryan Byrne (15)
17. Andrew Porter (5)
18. Mike Ross (144)
19. Ross Molony (34)
20. Peadar Timmins (4)
21. Luke McGrath (65)
22. Joey Carbery (12)
23. Barry Daly (5)


15 David Odiete
14 Andrea Pratichetti
13 Tommaso Iannone
12 Alberto Sgarbi (C)
11 Luca Sperandio
10 Ian McKinley
9 Tito Tebaldi

8 Robert Barbieri
7 Dean Budd
6 Marco Lazzaroni
5 Teofilo Paulo
4 Filippo Gerosa
3 Tiziano Pasquali
2 Luca Bigi
1 Federico Zani

16 Davide Giazzon
17 Nicola Quaglio
18 Matteo Zanusso
19 Francesco Minto
20 Guglielmo Zanini
21 Enrico Francescato
22 Michael Tagicakibau
23 Andrea Buondonno

Subscribe to The42 Rugby Show podcast here:

Trinity first up for Eddie O’Sullivan and more previews on a big weekend of UBL rugby

Goujon dips in as France make just one change to face Scotland

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.