Dublin: 14°C Thursday 5 August 2021

5 debutants for Limerick while Tipperary call up O'Riordan and Mulhair for Munster SFC tie

Limerick manager John Brudair has named his side for the weekend’s Munster championship opener.

Ian Ryan is the Limerick vice-captain this year.
Ian Ryan is the Limerick vice-captain this year.
Image: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

LIMERICK HAVE NAMED five championship debutants for their Munster opener against Tipperary on Saturday evening.

There are starts for Colm Moran and Sean O’Dea in the full-back line while Cian Sheehan and Michéal Brosnan start in the half-forward line and Eoin Hanrahan is at right corner-forward.

Darragh Tracey is also starting in the Munster Championship for the first time having played in the qualifiers against Longford last year and Kildare in 2012. He is selected in midfield ahead of John Galvin.

John Galvin on the subs bench There's no place for John Galvin this week. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

Tipperary have brought in two championship newcomers in corner-back Ger Mulhair and wing-back Colin O’Riordan, a former minor star who won an All-Ireland medal in 2011 as a 16 year-old.

There are three changes from the side won last month’s Division 4 league final against Clare in Croke Park. Mulhair and Ciaran McDonald come in to the corner-back slots instead of John Coghlan and Andrew Morrissey while O’Riordan replaces Donagh Leahy at wing-back.

1. Donal O’Sullivan – Monaleen
2. Colm Moran – Monaleen
3. Johnny McCarthy – St.Kieran’s
4. Sean O’ Dea – Kilteely/Dromkeen
5. Iain Corbett – Newcastlewest
6. Stephen Lucey – Croom
7. Padraig Browne – Fr. Casey’s
8. Thomas Lee – Ballylanders
9. Darragh Tracey – St. Kieran’s
10. Michéal Brosnan – Dromcollogher/Broadford
11. Cian Sheehan – Newcastlewest
12. Seanie Buckley - Dromcollogher/Broadford
13. Eoin Hanrahan – St Patrick’s
14. Ger Collins – Monaleen
15. Ian Ryan – St. Senan’s

1. Paul Fitzgerald – Fethard
2. Ger Mulhair – Arravale Rovers
3. Paddy Codd – Killenaule
4. Ciaran McDonald – Aherlow
5. Colin O’Riordan – JK Brackens
6. Robbie Kiely – Arravale Rovers
7. Peter Acheson – Moyle Rovers
8. Steven O’Brien – Ballina
9. George Hannigan – Shannon Rovers
10. Philip Austin – Borrisokane
11. Ian Fahey – Clonmel Commercials
12. Brian Fox – Eire Og Annacarty
13. Conor Sweeney – Ballyporeen
14. Michael Quinlivan – Clonmel Commercials
15. Barry Grogan – Aherlow

McKeever back in Antrim championship team following AFL spell with Brisbane Lions

‘Unfair’ to say last year’s Munster semi was a poor Tipp performance

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel