Wednesday 1 February 2023 Dublin: 6°C
Ryan Byrne/INPHO
# success
Limerick will face Wexford in the All-Ireland U21 final after overcoming Galway
The result sees the Munster champions through to a first All-Ireland decider since 2002.

Galway 0-17

Limerick 1-20

By Jackie Cahill at Semple Stadium, Thurles

TOM Morrissey’s killer goal with 11 minutes left propelled Limerick into next month’s Bord Gáis Energy All-Ireland U21 hurling final.

The senior panellist somehow managed to find the net under intense pressure, as referee Fergal Horgan played a good advantage.

That crucial score handed Limerick a six-point lead at Semple Stadium this evening and they would go on to win by that margin, setting up a 12 September showdown against Wexford.

Limerick’s victory sees the Munster champions through to a first All-Ireland decider since 2002.

And senior boss John Kiely, a senior panel member in 1996 when Wexford won the All-Ireland final, has the chance to exact revenge almost 20 years on.

It was a mixed night for Galway’s senior stars Jason Flynn, Cathal Mannion and Conor Whelan.

Flynn hit two of his seven points from play and cut over a fine sideline cut in the first half but Whelan managed just a point and Mannion was held scoreless.

Brian Molloy provided stout Galway resistance with five points from play but Limerick were too good down the home straight.

In front of 7,563 spectators, the sides were level at half-time, 0-10 apiece, with Galway coming from six points down to ensure parity.

Daniel Nevin opened the scoring for Galway with just 10 seconds on the watch but Limerick looked the better side for spells before the Tribesmen finished well before half-time.

The best goal chance of the first half fell to Flynn but he was kept out by David McCarthy in the seventh minute.

But Flynn would come good later in the half with a burst of scores as Galway rallied from 0-4 to 0-10 behind.

Morrissey put over a brace during the Treaty men’s purple patch, a run of four unanswered points that opened up real breathing space.

But Flynn was the man in form in the closing minutes of the opening half as Limerick reeled off six points without reply.

He scored four in that run of white flags, including that sideline cut and the final point of the half from play, as Johnny Kelly’s men finally found momentum after taking some time to find their feet.

But this was Limerick’s day and they march on to an intriguing meeting with Wexford.


1. David McCarthy (Glenroe)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff)
3. Richie English (Doon)
4. Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes​ (Patrickswell)(Vice Captain)
6. Barry O’Connell (Kildimo Pallaskenry)(Captain)
7. Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s)

8. Darragh O Donovan (Doon)
9. Pat Ryan (Doon)

10. Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh)
11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
12. David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh),

13. Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen)
14. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
15. Barry Nash (South Liberties)


1. Gearoid Loughnane (Loughrea)

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

2. Declan Cronin (Cappataggle)
3. Paul Killeen (Tynagh-Abbey-Duniry)
4. Barry Keane (Clarinbridge)

5. Sean Sweeney (Loughrea)
6. Shane Cooney (St Thomas)
7. Eanna Burke (St Thomas)

8. Kevin McHugo (Tommy Larkins)
9. Dan Nevin (Cappataggle)

10. Eamonn Brannigan (Rahoon-Newcastle)
11. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)
12. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)

13. Brian Molloy (Kilnadeema-Leitrim)
14. Ronan O’Meara (Portumna)
15. Jason Flynn (Tommy Larkins)

Scorers for Limerick: Tom Morrissey 1-3, Ronan Lynch (2f, 1 sl), David Dempsey 0-4, Colin Ryan 0-3, Diarmaid Byrnes & Darragh O’Donovan 0-2, Gearóid Hegarty, Cian Lynch & Barry Nash 0-1.

Scorers for Galway: Jason Flynn 0-7 (2f, 2 65s, 1 sl), Brian Molloy 0-5, Daniel Nevin 0-2, S Cooney, Conor Whelan & Eamon Brannigan 0-1 each.

Galway subs:

18. Michael Mullins (Gort Inse Guaire) for O’Meara (21)
17. Jason Kennedy (Ard Rathain) for Brannigan (41)
19. Jamie Ryan (Baile Locha Riadh) for McHugo (52)
23. Brian Burke (Cill Iomar Dálaigh) for Kennedy (57)

Limerick subs:

19. Andrew La-Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen) for Ryan (51)
24. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh) for Nash (51)
17. Mark O’Callaghan (Knockaderry) for M Casey (59).
20. Jack Kelliher (Patrickswell) for Morrissey (60+1).

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

He’s at it again! Conor McDonald pulls off another super flick for Wexford U21s>

Wexford hurlers cruise into All-Ireland U21 final with 12-point victory>

Your Voice
Readers Comments