Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 24 November 2020

Limerick vacancy - 6 contenders to be the county's next senior hurling manager

TJ Ryan’s departure was officially confirmed last night.

TJ RYAN BROUGHT the curtain down officially on his tenure as Limerick senior hurling boss last night.

The news was confirmed that the Garryspillane man was stepping down but his post-match comments after Saturday’s loss to Clare left no one in doubt as to which way Ryan was leaning.

But who’s going to be at the helm in Limerick for 2017? We take a look at some of the potential contenders.

1. Leo O’Connor

Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

The Claughaun man managed Limerick to the 2011 Munster U21 hurling title with victory over Cork in an epic decider and was in charge of the county minor side last year.

2. Anthony Daly

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

The former Clare and Dublin boss would bring huge managerial experience to table. He is also currently coaching the Limerick minor hurlers and is highly familiar with the playing scene in Limerick.

3. Ciaran Carey

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Currently Carey and his coaching sidekick Mark Foley are involved with Kerry but could be tempted by a vacancy in their native county. The duo have developed Kerry and last year took Patrickswell to the Limerick county final.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

4. John Kiely

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Last year Kiely guided a talented Limerick side to the All-Ireland U21 hurling title with victory over Wexford. They’re contesting the Munster semi-final of that competition on Thursday night against Tipperary after Kiely oversaw a quarter-final victory against Cork.

5. Shane O’Neill

Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

On St Patrick’s Day, O’Neill became the first man to guide a Limerick club to the All-Ireland crown in Croke Park. He did it in style as well as Na Piarsaigh cruised to victory over Antrim’s Cushendall.

6. Liam Sheedy

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

The Portroe man was the mastermind behind Tipperary’s 2010 All-Ireland hurling triumph. Would he be tempted by a return to inter-county management?

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Munster GAA colleges draws made for next season with new Dr Harty Cup format

The Jonny Wilkinson influence on Dublin’s prolific football freetaker

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: