This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Saturday 21 September, 2019

Limerick minors produced a sensational second half comeback to stun Waterford

The Deise led by nine points at half time.

Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

Limerick 2-14 Waterford 3-10

LIMERICK MINORS SCORED two second half goals to pip Waterford by a single point in tonight’s Munster Minor Football Championship playoff at Newcastlewest.

The Deise were cruising at half time, with three goals in the opening 30 minutes giving them a 3-6 to 0-7 lead at the break. But the Limerick defence improved considerably in the second half, and only allowed four points thereafter.

Two goals in the first 12 minutes and another on the 20 minute mark saw Waterford lead comfortably but the Treaty county goaled after 35 minutes and again with five minutes to go to snatch a late win.

Limerick will now travel to Ennis next Wednesday night to face Clare in another playoff with the winners of that game advancing to the semi-final on 13 May against Tipperary.


1. Aaron Murphy (Fr Caseys)

3. Luke O’Connell (Mungret)
2. David Hanley (Ballysteen)
4. Fionn Murphy (Kilteely-Dromkeen)

5. John Wallace (Glin)
6. Seán Ivess (Newcastlewest)
7. Seán Murphy (Newcastlewest)

8. Adam Kerins (St Senan’s)
9. Michael Whelan (Hospital-Herbertstown)

10. Andrew White (Rathkeale)
11. Mikey Morrissey (Rathkeale) (captain)
12. Ed Sheehy (Granagh-Ballingarry)

13. Diarmuid Kelly (Newcastlewest)
14. Mark Connolly (Adare)
15. James Ryan (Athea)


1.  Kevin Dwane (Ballinacourty)
2.  Darragh O’Grady (Brickey Rangers)
3.  Stephen Ryan (Nire)
4. Conor McCarthy (Ballinacourty)

5.  Carthach Barry (Brickey Rangers)
6.  John Elstead (Ballinacourty)
7.  Neil Montgomery (Ballinacourty)

8.  Conor Prince (Ballinacourty)
9.  Ciarán Looney (Nire)

10.Michéal Culloo (Ballinameela)
11. Conor Murray (Rathgormack)
12. Shane O’Meara (Nire)

13. Michael Sweeney (Stradbally)
14. David Looby (Ballinacourty)
15. Dylan Guiry (Nire) (captain)

Venues and refs named for Cork, Waterford, Tipp and Tyrone’s May Bank Holiday GAA finals

‘I could just see in his eyes there was no fear’ – praise for Louth’s Ciaran Byrne after AFL debut

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel