This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 22 February, 2020

Two senior panellists and eight from 2014 team named in Limerick U21 squad

Limerick take on Tipperary at the semi-final stage on 16 July.

Cian Lynch celebrates scoring a point Limerick's Cian Lynch. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

CIAN LYNCH AND Tom Morrissey are the only two members of the Limerick senior hurling squad named on the county’s U21 panel for their Bord Gáis Energy Munster semi-final clash against Tipperary on 16 July.

Attackers Lynch and Morrissey have both been part of TJ Ryan’s senior setup while they will now be key figures for John Kiely’s U21 squad.

The 34-man panel has been announced in The Limerick Leader with eight members of the U21 team that lost last year against Clare at the quarter-final stage named here.

Tom Morrissey 17/8/2014 Limerick's Tom Morrissey Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Mark O’Callaghan, Richie English, Diarmuid Byrnes, Cian Lynch, David Dempsey, Liam O’Sullivan, Kevin O’Brien and Pat Ryan are the players on question.

The squad contains several members of the 2013 and 2014 Limerick minor winning sides.

Limerick U21 hurling panel

Jody Hannon, Lukas O’Brien – Adare
Tom Morrissey, Paddy Morrissey – Ahane
Cian Hedderman – Ballybrown
James O’Riordan, Brian Finn, Sean Finn – Bruff
David Lynch – Croagh-Kilfinny
Darragh O’Donovan, Pat Ryan, Richie English – Doon
Jack Quaid – Effin
Jamie Butler, Sean Flanagan – Feohanagh
David McCarthy – Glenroe
David Condron – Granagh-Ballingarry
Barry O’Connell – Kildimo-Pallaskenry
Robbie Hanley – Kilmallock
Liam O’Sullivan, Mark O’Callaghan – Knockaderry
Lorcan Lyons, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave – Monaleen
Darragh Kennedy – Murroe-Boher
Michael Casey, David Dempsey, Ronan Lynch – Na Piarsaigh
Colin Ryan – Pallasgreen
Jack Kelliher, Diarmuid Byrnes, Kevin O’Brien, Cian Lynch – Patrickswell
Gearoid Hegarty – St Patrick’s
Evan Fitzgerald – Parteen

Originally published Friday at 11.19

3 changes for Westmeath hurlers ahead of Limerick qualifier clash

Late goal sees Limerick past Cork and keeps Munster minor three-in-a-row bid alive

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: