Dublin: 15°C Friday 19 August 2022

Limerick senior Hannon bags 1-7 in first half as Mary I make Fitzgibbon semis at a canter

The Limerick side led GMIT by 21 points at the interval and were able to rest a number of players in the second period.

GMIT’s John Finnerty (left) and Sean Linnane of Mary Immaculate.
GMIT’s John Finnerty (left) and Sean Linnane of Mary Immaculate.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Mary Immaculate 2-25
GMIT 0-10

MARY IMMACULATE COLLEGE qualified for the Fitzgibbon Cup semi-finals as a stunning first-half display overwhelmed GMIT in Limerick.

Limerick’s Declan Hannon hit 1-7 before he was withdrawn at half-time along with Cian Lynch, Colm Galvin and Ronan Maher, while David Reidy’s goal after the restart finished off the job.

GMIT were held scoreless in the first half and trailed by 1-18 to 0-0 at half-time, but with a strong wind at their backs on the resumption they showed plenty of spirit, but there was no way back for the Galway side.

Eamon Cregan’s charges even rested Richie English and Darragh O’Donovan from the start and on this display they will be hard to beat in the semi-finals in two weeks’ time.

This game was as good as over after 10 minutes, at which point Mary Immaculate held a six-point lead. Seven minutes later that lead was doubled after Hannon goaled following good work from Niall O’Meara.

Niall OÕMeara and Sean Collins Mary Immaculate's Niall O’Meara (on ground) and Sean Collins of GMIT battle for possession. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

With a 21-point lead at the break the result was beyond doubt, but GMIT still matched their hosts in the second-half as four points from Davy Conroy gave them some satisfaction.

Scorers for Mary Immaculate: D Hannon 1-7 (5f), D Reidy 1-2, S Linnane 0-4, M O’Neill (2f), N O’Meara 0-3 each; S Cahill, C Galvin 0-2 each; C Lynch S Kennedy 0-1 each.
Scorers for GMIT: D Conroy 0-4, D Nevin 0-3 (2f), D Burke, C Gardiner, A Ward 0-1 each.

Mary Immaculate College

1. Maidhc O Conghaile (Micheal Breathnach’s, Galway)

2. Eoin Quirke (Whitegate, Clare)
7. John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney, Tipperary)
4. Andrew Ryan (Toomevara, Tipperary)

6. Tom Stapleton (Templederry, Tipperary)
10. Alan Flynn (Kildangan, Tipperary)
24. Mickey O’Neill (Kilmaley, Clare)

8. Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary)
9. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields, Tipperary)

12. Colm Galvin (Clonlara, Clare)
13. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick)
17. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane McDonaghs, Tipperary)

15. David Reidy (Dromin Athlacca, Limerick)
14. Declan Hannon (Adare, Limerick)
11. Sean Linnane (Turloughmore, Galway)

19. Conor Twomey (Newtownshandrum, Cork) for Galvin (ht)
20. Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s, Tipperary) for Maher (ht)
21. Jody Hannon (Adare, Limerick) for Lynch (ht)
23. Colm Barry (Castlelyons, Cork) for Hannon (ht)
22. Thomas Monaghan (Craughwell, Galway) for O’Meara (34)
20. Jack Peters (Kilruane McDonaghs, Tipperary) for Twomey (60-62).


1. James Barrett (Galway)

2. Declan Cronin (Galway)
3. Iomar Creaven (Galway)
4. John Finnerty (Galway)

5. Luke Cosgrave (Galway)
6. Paul Hoban (Galway)
7. Sean Collins (Galway)

8. Davy Conroy (Clare)
9. Darragh Burke (Galway)

10. Jarlath Mannion (Galway)
11. Joe Mooney (Galway)
12. Brendan Touhey (Tipperary)

13. David Mangan (Galway)
14. Dan Nevin (Galway)
15. Conor Gardiner (Galway)

25. Alan Ward for Mannion (ht)
17. Stephen Pierce for Cosgrave (40)
23. Darragh Cooney for Mangan (47)
20. Cathal Reilly for Collins (47)

Referee: Barry Kelly (Westmeath)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!



A former Miami Dolphins player sampled Gaelic football in Mayo last weekend

Jack Guiney quits the Wexford panel for ‘personal reasons’

About the author:

Declan Rooney

Read next: