Cathal Noonan/INPHO Mayo's Aidan O'Shea was amongst their goalscorer today.
# green and red
O'Shea, Freeman and Sweeney hit goals as Mayo defeat 13-man Monaghan
Stephen Gollogly and Ryan Wylie were both dismissed for Monaghan today.

Mayo 3-15
Monaghan 0-11

MAYO GOT BACK to winning ways in style as they disposed of 13-man Monaghan in a fiery game at Elvery’s MacHale Park in Castlebar.

Stephen Gollogly and Ryan Wylie were sent off in either half as the Farneymen completely lost their discipline and Mayo pulled clear with Aidan O’Shea’s second half goal putting daylight between the teams after a tight first half.

The Breaffy man kicked 1-3 in his makeshift full-forward role as he dominated the Monaghan defence who failed to deal with Mayo’s attackers as they fell apart in the final third of the game, with Mayo adding further goals through Alan Freeman and Michael Sweeney.

Farney goalkeeper Rory Beggan got the scoring underway with a pinpoint free before Mayo skipped into a quick lead with makeshift full forward Aidan O’Shea popping one over and key marksman Cillian O’Connor opening his account from a free.

Mark Ronaldson, Jason Doherty and O’Connor made it 0-7 to 0-5 before Gollogly was the first Monaghan player to see a straight red card for an open fist on Doherty.

With Mayo leading 0-9 to 0-6 at half time, early second half scores from Cillian O’Connor, Aidan O’Shea and Mark Ronaldson were answered by McKenna and Paul Finlay for the visitors before Aidan O’Shea fired into the net to make it 1-13 to 0-8.

Monaghan fell apart from here as Ryan Wylie then got his marching orders for violently hauling Ronaldson to the ground and late goals from substitutes Alan Freeman and Mickey Sweeney finished the rout.

Scorers for Mayo: Aidan O’Shea 1-3, Cillian O’Connor 0-5 (0-5f), Mark Ronaldson 0-3, Alan Freeman and Mikey Sweeney 1-0 each, Diarmuid O’Connor, Kevin McLoughlin, Donal Vaughan, Jason Doherty 0-1 each.

Scorers for Monaghan: Daniel McKenna 0-4 (0-2f), Kieran Hughes and Paul Finlay (0-2f) 0-2 each, Stephen Gollogly, Rory Beggan (0-1f) and Paul Meegan (0-1f) 0-1 each.


1. Robbie Hennelly (Breaffy)

2. Tom Cunniffe (Casltebar Mitchels)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
9. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Mark Ronaldson (Shrule/Glencorrib)
14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber)
15. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)


23. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels) for S O’Shea (30) (black card)
19. Colm Boyle (Davitts) for Vaughan (36)
25. Alan Freeman (Aghamore) for C O’Connor (57)
21. Micheal Forde (Ballycastle) for McLoughlin (61)
18. Ger Cafferkey (Ballina) for Keane (65)
26. Mickey Sweeney (Kiltane) for Ronaldson (65)


1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

2. Conor Boyle (Clontibret)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)

5. Dessie Mone (Clontibret)
6. Fintan Kelly (Clones)
7. Kieran Duffy (Latton)

8. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps)
9. Paul Finlay (Ballybay)

10. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)
11. Stephen Gollogly (Carrickmacross)
12. Ryan Mc Anespie (Emyvale)

13. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney)
14. Daniel McKenna (Truagh Gaels)
22. Owen Duffy (Latton)


20. Vinny Corey (Clontibret) for K Duffy (36)
21. Darren Hughes (Scotstown) for O Duffy (36)
23. Padraig Donaghy (Donaghmoyne) for Malone (45) (black card)
19. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland) for Kelly (50)
18. Paddy McGuigan (Cremartin) for Boyle (55)
26. Paul Meegan (Inniskeen) for McKenna (66)

Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

Michael Murphy sent-off but Donegal inflict first league defeat on Cork

Kerry see off 14-man Dublin to win fiery league battle at home in Killarney

Your Voice
Readers Comments