Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 0°C
Cathal Noonan/INPHO A file photo from a league game between Waterford and Tipperary.
# Young Guns
Last year's Munster minor finalists have picked a strong team for this year's opener
Tipperary and Waterford have named their sides for tomorrow’s quarter-final.

WE ARE INTO the knockout rounds of the National Hurling and Football leagues but at minor level, the hurling championship is about to get started. Limerick made a smashing run to the All-Ireland minor final last year where they lost to Kilkenny, and now two Munster rivals well get their provincial campaigns under way.

Tipperary face Waterford in the Munster minor championship quarter final tomorrow night and both sides have named strong teams.

The Premier County are able to call on four of last year’s panel in Stephen Quirke, Darragh Peters, Jack Skehan and Alan Tynan for the clash at Semple Stadium.

Waterford took Limerick to a replay in last year’s Munster minor final and it will be interesting to see if they can kick on from their appearance in the decider.

The throw in is fixed for 7pm.


1. Padraig Hayes (Ballingarry)

2. Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch)
3. James Quigley (Kildangan)
4. Enda Heffernan (Clonoulty Rossmore)

5. Jack Skehan (Holycross Ballycahill)
6. Brian McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
7. Darragh Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

8. Liam McCutcheon (Templederry Kenyons)
9. Shane Neville (Lattin Cullen)

10. Daragh Carey (Templederry Kenyons)
11. Stephen Quirke C (Moyle Rovers)
12. Ruadhan Mulrooney (Portroe)

13. David Gleeson (Ballinahinch)
14. Alan Tynan (Roscrea)
15. Ross Peters (St. Mary’s Clonmel)


Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

2. Darragh Lynch (Passage)
3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)
4. Darragh McGrath (Abbeyside)

5. Jordan Henley (Tallow)
6. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower)
7. Cormac Dunphy (Ballyduff Lower)

8. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan)
9. JP Lucey (Shamrocks)

10. Peter Hogan (Ballygunner)
11. Andy Molumby (Cappoquin)
12. Eddie Meaney (De La Salle)

13. Aaron O Sullivan (Cappoquin)
14. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)
15. Glenn Waters (Dungarvan)

67-year-old goalkeeper Johnny McEvoy wasn’t going to let his club down on Easter Sunday

‘That’s f**king not on’ – One GAA manager was furious with his senior players after getting relegated