This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Wednesday 24 April, 2019

Monaghan stick with tried and trusted but one change for Tyrone

The Ulster champions have kept faith with the XV who accounted for Donegal.

Cathal McCarron will start at corner back.
Cathal McCarron will start at corner back.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

TYRONE HAVE NAMED just seven of the team that controversially beat Monaghan in the All-Ireland football championship quarter-finals two years ago as the pair get set to meet again at the same stage in Croke Park this Saturday.

However, Micky Harte has made just one change from the side which easily dispatched of Sligo in the final round of the Qualifiers, Cathal McCarron returning at corner back in place of Trillick’s Rory Brennan.

Tyrone will be once again captained by Sean Cavanagh, set to make his 78th championship appearance for the Red Hands.

Monaghan, meanwhile, have decided to stick with the same starting XV that secured the county’s second Ulster title in three seasons last month with the inclusion of Christopher McGuinness the only change in the 26.

Throw-in Saturday is 4pm


1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

2. Colin Walshe (Doohamlet)
3. Vinny Corey (Clontibret)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay)

5. Dessie Mone (Clontibret)
6. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps)
7. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)

8. Owen Lennon (Latton)
9. Fintan Kelly (Clones)

10. Kieran Duffy (Latton)
11. Darren Hughes (Scotstown)
12. Owen Duffy (Latton)
13. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney)
14. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)
15. Conor McManus (Clontibret) (Captain)


1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

2. Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciarán)
3. Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran)
4.Cathal McCarron (Dromore)

5. Ronan McNabb (Dromore)
6. Joe McMahon (Omagh)
7. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciarán)

8. Colm Cavanagh (Moy)
9. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick)

10. Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
11. Mark Bradley (Killyclogher)
12. Conor Meyler (Omagh)

13. Darren McCurry (Edendork)
14. Sean Cavanagh (Capt., Moy)
15. Connor McAliskey (Clonoe)

Three changes for Kerry ahead of All-Ireland final with Mayo

It’s a bumper GAA weekend and here’s all your TV and Radio coverage

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: