Tyler Bleyendaal captains the team for Saturday's game. Laszlo Geczo/INPHO
Unlucky for Some

13 changes as Munster prepare for Dragons clash

Fullback Mike Haley and lock Jean Kleyn are the only starters from the Exeter encounter.

MUNSTER HAVE MADE 13 changes to their side for Saturday’s Guinness Pro14 clash with Dragons at Rodney Parade [KO 3pm, Premier Sports/eir Sport/TG4].

Following on from last week’s 9-7 victory over Exeter Chiefs, which secured their passage into a record 18th Heineken Champions Cup quarter-final, Tyler Bleyendaal has been named as captain for the much-changed side. 

Meanwhile, Liam O’Connor is set to make his first Pro14 appearance of the season off the bench, having recovered from a long-term knee injury, while academy player Gavin Coombes is also included among the replacements.

Fullback Mike Haley and lock Jean Kleyn are the only starters from the Exeter encounter to retain their places in the team.


15. Mike Haley
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Dan Goggin
12. Tyler Bleyendaal (captain)
11. Ronan O’Mahony
10. Bill Johnston
9. Alby Mathewson

1. Jeremy Loughman
2. Rhys Marshall
3. Stephen Archer
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Billy Holland
6. Fineen Wycherley
7. Conor Oliver
8. Arno Botha


16. Kevin O’Byrne
17. Liam O’Connor
18. Ciaran Parker
19. Darren O’Shea
20. Gavin Coombes
21. Neil Cronin
22. Calvin Nash
23. Jaco Taute.

Just over a week out from the 2019 Six Nations openers, Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey are joined by Bernard Jackman to look at Ireland’s bid for another Grand Slam:

The42 Rugby Weekly / SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

Your Voice
Readers Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
Leave a Comment
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.

    Leave a commentcancel