Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 1°C Saturday 10 April 2021

Quirke hits 2-7 as Carlow's Myshall win All-Ireland junior camogie title

Myshall won today’s final against Scariff/Ogonnolloe.

Image: INPHO/Donall Farmer

Myshall (Carlow) 3-9
Scariff / Ogonnolloe (Clare) 0-8

CIARA QUIRKE RAN riot as Myshall retained their AIB All-Ireland junior club camogie title at Kilcormac.

The Carlow star – whose mother, Nuala also lined out – scored 2-7 for the champions and with the half-back line of Kate, Michelle and Breege Nolan dominant, Scariff/Ogonnolloe never looked like getting the goals they needed to be victorious.

The Clare outfit did remain in contention until the 59th minute, when they trailed by just three points despite a spectacular goal mid-way through the second half from Quirke.

The centre-forward collected possession in a deep position before embarking on a coruscating run and firing a blistering shot to the Scariff/Ogonnolloe net.

That put five points between the sides but a brace from Mairéad Scanlon reduced the margin to three.

Another unstoppable shot from Quirke in the 59th minute that gave the magnificent Scariff/Ogonnolloe goalkeeper, Aisling Corbett no chance, removed any doubt and Olivia Jordan added another goal before the final whistle.

Scorers for Myshall: C Quirke 2-7; O Jordan 1-0; C Mullins, O Maye 0-1 each.

Scorers for Scariff / Ogonnolloe: M Scanlon 0-5, D Sheedy 0-2, R O’Brien 0-1.

MYSHALL: J Joyce, N Quirke, M Doyle, F Jordan, K Nolan, M Nolan, B Nolan, C Mullins, T Wilson, L Doyle, C Quirke, O Jordan, O Maye, C Folely, A Ruschitzko.

SCARIFF/OGONNOLLOE: A Corbett, S Daly, R O’Brien, L Horan, M Vaughan, M O’Brien, S McNamara, S Vaughan, S Madden, R Moloney, D Sheedy, M Scanlon, S O’Donnell, A Thornton, R O’Brien.

Sub: A Minogue for Thornton (56)

Referee: R Kelly (Kildare)

Na Piarsaigh are crowned Munster senior hurling club champions

Kilkenny’s Rower-Inistioge lift the Leinster intermediate hurling club crown

About the author:

Daragh O Conchúir

Read next: