Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Saturday 16 January 2021

Sharp-shooting Portlaoise book spot in another Leinster final

Portlaoise now take on Dublin champions Ballyboden-St Enda’s as they bid for a first provincial title since 2009.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Portlaoise 5-12

Killoe 0-11

A LETHAL FULL-FORWARD line helped Portlaoise into another Leinster Club SFC final thanks to a 5-12 to 0-11 win over Longford champions Killoe in O’Moore Park today.

The deadly inside trio of Paul Cahillane, Craig Rogers and Brian McCormack helped themselves to 4-11 as Portlaoise reached their third Leinster final in four years. Cahillane top-scored with 2-6 but Rogers and McCormack were just as dangerous.

Beaten in 2012 and 2013 by Ballymun Kickhams and St Vincent’s, Portlaoise now take on Dublin champions Ballyboden-St Enda’s as they bid for a first provincial title since 2009.

Backed by a massive travelling support and with Irish International Rules Star Michael Quinn at centre-back, Killoe got off to a good start and were 0-3 to 0-1 up after five minutes, two of their points coming from impressive centre-forward Daniel Mimnagh.

But the defence was to be Killoe’s undoing. Rogers got Portlaoise’s first goal on seven minutes after exchanging passes with Conor Dunphy and McCormack had the second three minutes later when he was put through by Cahillane.

Killoe responded by bringing back a sweeper but the damage was done and although they rallied with points from Denis McGoldrick, Sean McCormack and Paddy Kiernan, Portlaoise responded in kind every time and were 2-6 to 0-7 up at the break.

Again Killoe started the second half well by scoring the first two points but the game was ended as a contest when Cahillane got two goals in a minute. Both were remarkably easy – the first when he got in behind the defence and was picked out by Brian Smith; the second after combining with McCormack.

From then on, the game petered out. Sub Ciaran McEvoy got Portlaoise’s fifth goal when he chipped over Cillian Burns and Killoe’s day got even worse when midfielder Simon Kiernan was red-carded with five minutes remaining.

Scorers for Portlaoise: Paul Cahillane 2-6 (0-4f), Craig Rogers 1-3 (0-2f), Brian McCormack 1-2, Ciaran McEvoy 1-0, Brian Mulligan 0-1

Scorers for Killoe: Sean McCormack 0-5 (0-3f), Daniel Mimnagh and Denis McGoldrick (0-1f) 0-2 each, Paddy Kiernan and Mark Hughes 0-1 each


1. Graham Brody
17. John Delaney
3. Cahir Healy
2. David Seale
5. Eoghan Whelan
6. Kieran Lillis
7. Brian Mulligan
8. Dean Cullen
9. Conor Boyle
10. Gareth Dillon
15. Brian Smith
26. Conor Dunphy
13. Brian McCormack
14. Paul Cahillane
11. Craig Rogers

Ricky Maher for Dunphy (45 mins)
Ciaran McEvoy for Cullen (52 mins)
Kevin Fitzpatrick for Smith (54 mins)
David Holland for Rogers (black card – 57 mins)
Colin Finn for McCormack (injured – 59 mins)


1. Cillian Burns
2. Liam Hughes
3. Padraig McCormack
4. Daniel Keogh
5. Shane Dowd
6. Michael Quinn
7. Cian Farrelly
17. Joe McCormack
9. Simon Kiernan
10. Denis McGoldrick
11. Denis Mimnagh
12. Paddy Kiernan
8. Paddy Thompson
14. Sean McCormack
15. Mark Hughes

Ronan McGoldrick for Thompson (half-time)
Larry Moran for D McGoldrick (43 mins)
Eugene Clarke for P Kiernan (43 mins)
Shane Clarke for Hughes (52 mins)
Ronan Keogh for Dowd (55 mins)

Referee: Niall Ward (Westmeath)

Castlebar Mitchells dethrone Corofin in thriller as Barry Moran stars

Shane Dowling leads the way as Na Piarsaigh crowned Munster club kingpins again

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: