Dublin: 2°C Sunday 28 November 2021

Ray Carey and John Hayes return to Cork senior football squad

The 2010 All-Ireland winners will link up for the 2014 season.

Ray Carey celebrates Cork's All-Ireland triumph in 2010.
Ray Carey celebrates Cork's All-Ireland triumph in 2010.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

2010 ALL-IRELAND winners Ray Carey and John Hayes have returned to the Cork senior football squad ahead of the 2014 season.

Cork boss Brian Cuthbert has announced his provisional squad for next year which are set to commence training on December 8th.

The return of Carey and Hayes is the most eye-catching feature of a setup that has been shorn of five players through retirements (Alan Quirke, Graham Canty, Paudie Kissane, Noel O’Leary and Pearse O’Neill) while Ciaran Sheehan is to join AFL side Carlton.

Carey last featured for Cork in the 2012 All-Ireland quarter-final win over Kildare before going travelling and was not involved in the 2013 campaign.

He has featured strongly for his club Clyda Rovers who won the Cork premier intermediate football title last month and who face Tipperary’s Ballyporeen at the semi-final stage on Sunday.

Carey started at corner-back on the Cork team that defeated Down in the 2010 All-Ireland final while Hayes came on as a substitute in that game. Hayes opted off the Cork panel in March 2011 but has been showing good form for his club Carbery Rangers at senior level in Cork.

The duo featured on the Cork team that contested the 2006 All-Ireland U21 final while Carey won a medal 12 months later in that grade with a final win against Laois.

Injury rules Jamie O’Sullivan, Damien Cahalane, Patrick Kelly and Colm O’Neill out of Cuthbert’s initial plans while six members of the county U21 team will also be on the panel.

The squad will be cut before the start of Cork’s 2014 Allianz football league campaign.

Players training with the Squad
1. Michael Shields (St Finbarr’s)
2. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)
3. David Hanrahan (Douglas)
4. Tom Clancy (Fermoy)
5. John McLoughlin (Kanturk)
6. Ray Carey (Clyda Rovers)
7. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
8. Alan Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
9. James Loughrey (Mallow)
10. Alan Sheehan (Dohenys)
11. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)
12. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
13. Eoin Keane (St Finbarr’s)
14. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh’s)
15. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
16. Alan O Connor (St Colum’s)
17. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
18. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
19. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
20. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
21. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
22. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)
23. Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere)
24. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
25. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh’s)
26. Donncha O’Connor (Ballydesmond)
27. Donal Og Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa)


John Hayes in action for Cork in 2010
Pic: INPHO/Dan Sheridan

Developing players – players who are still under 21 but will train with the squad
1. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
2. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh’s)
3. Ian McGuire (St Finbarr’s)
4. Cathal Vaughan (Iveleary)
5. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
6. Dan MacEoin (Ilen Rovers)

Players who are injured or recovering from injury
1. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
2. Damien Cahalane (Castlehaven)
3. Patrick Kelly (Ballincollig)
4. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)

New Cork boss Cuthbert on backroom team, dual players and retirements

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: