Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Sunday 18 April 2021

Rob Kearney wins Rugby Writers' award

The Leinster and Ireland full-back was named Player of the Year by the Rugby Writers of Ireland this evening.

Image: ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

LEINSTER AND IRELAND full-back Rob Kearney has been named the Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Player of the Year.

The award caps an excellent 12 months for Kearney who also won the prestigious European Player of the Year prize for his performances in helping Leinster to a third Heineken Cup in four seasons.

The Louth native, 26, is currently recovering from surgery on a back injury. Kearney sat out Ireland’s defeat to South Africa on Saturday and is not expected to return until the new year, meaning he is all but certain to miss Leinster’s crunch double-header against Clermont Auvergne next month.

Three-time European champions Leinster won the Dave Guiney Perpetual Trophy for team of the year while St Mary’s were named club of the year after capturing their first AIL title in 12 seasons.

Claire Molloy, captain of the Ireland Women’s Sevens at the European Championships, picked up Women’s Player of the Year.

The Tom Rooney Award went to Kelly Wilson for his exceptional contribution to rugby and his continued involvement with Ulster Rugby, while full-back Paddy Berkery and hooker Ciaran Fitzgerald were inducted into the Guinness Hall of Fame.

Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Awards

  • Player of the Year: Rob Kearney
  • Club of the Year: St Mary’s College RFC
  • Team of the Year (Dave Guiney Perpetual Trophy): Leinster
  • Tom Rooney Award: Kelly Wilson
  • Women’s Player of the Year: Claire Molloy
  • Guinness Hall of Fame: Paddy Berkery and Ciaran Fitzgerald

O’Connell, Ferris both ruled out of Argentina test

Opinion: Boks were there for the taking, and we left it behind us once again

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: