Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 4°C
Donall Farmer/INPHO Roscommon's Conor Daly and Down's Caolan Mooney.
# Rossies Rising
Roscommon are league champions again after Division 2 final win over Down
Twelve months after winning the Division 3 final, Roscommon claimed the Division 2 decider.

Roscommon 1-17
Down 0-15

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

ROSCOMMON’S FOOTBALL RISING continued as they lifted a league crown for the second successive year in today’s Division 2 final at Croke Park.

A Down team that were inhibited by the first-half dismissal of defender Brendan McArdle were the latest team to fall victim to John Evans Roscommon side.

Ciarán Murtagh’s bullet to the net in the 61st minute sealed their success after substitute Donie Shine touched a high ball down perfectly into the path of the Roscommon centre-forward.

Murtagh finished the game with 1-2 to his credit but man-of-the-match Senan Kilbride also sparkled as he notched 0-4 while Cian Connolly was confident in his place kicking as he finished with 0-5.

Darragh O'Hanlon with Cathal Cregg Donall Farmer / INPHO Down's Darragh O'Hanlon with Roscommon's Cathal Cregg. Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

The teams were tied at 0-7 apiece at the interval after a tame and tepid opening period. They were locked together at 0-3 apiece by the 22nd minute but the exchanges improved before half-time.

Roscommon upped the ante after half-time as they reeled off four points without reply in the opening six minutes of the second-half. Down fought back, principally through Donal O’Hare and Kevin McKernan, but couldn’t close the gap sufficiently.

Murtagh’s goal put real daylight between the teams while substitutes Shine, Diarmuid Murtagh and Ultan Harney all got on the scoresheet to clinch success for Roscommon.

Scorers for Roscommon: Cian Connolly 0-5 (0-4f), Ciarán Murtagh 1-2 (0-1f), Senan Kilbride 0-4,  Ciarán Cafferkey, Donal Smith, Cathal Cregg, Diarmuid Murtagh, Donie Shine (0-1f), Ultan Harney 0-1 each.

Scorers for Down: Donal O’Hare 0-6 (0-4f), Kevin McKernan 0-2, Brendan McArdle, Paul Devlin, Conor Maginn, Conor Laverty, Jerome Johnston (0-1f), Ryan Johnston, Caolan Mooney (0-1f) 0-1 each.

David Murray with Donal OÕHare Tommy Grealy / INPHO Roscommon's David Murray with Down's Donal O'Hare. Tommy Grealy / INPHO / INPHO


1. Darren O’Malley (Michael Glaveys)

4. Neil Collins (Castlerea St Kevin’s)
3. Niall Carty (Padraig Pearses)
2. David Murray (Padraig Pearses)

5. Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses)
6. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
7. Ciaran Cafferkey (Western Gaels)

8. Kevin Higgins (Western Gaels)
9. Cathal Shine (Clann na nGael)

12. Ronan Stack (St Brigid’s)
11. Ciarán Murtagh (St Faithleach’s)
10. Donal Smith (Boyle)

22. Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels)
14. Senan Kilbride (St Brigid’s)
15. Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)

13. Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleach’s) for Smith (half-time)
20. Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael) for Cregg (47)
19. Brian Murtagh (St Faithleach’s) for Murray (53)
24. Colin Compton (Strokestown) for Ciarán Murtagh (61)
23. Ian Kilbride (St Brigid’s) for Higgins (67)

A general view of the game Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member


1. Stephen Kane (Kilcoo)

3. Luke Howard (Bryansford)
17. Aidan Carr (Clonduff)
5. Darren O’Hagan (Clonduff)

2. Gerard Collins (Downpatrick)
6. Brendan McArdle (Annaclone)
11. Kevin McKernan (Burren)

14. Caolan Mooney (Rostrevor)
8. Peter Turley (Downpatrick)

24. Darragh O’Hanlon (Kilcoo)
10. Conor Maginn (Bryansford)
7. Conall McGovern (Burren)

9. Paul Devlin (Kilcoo)
13. Conor Laverty (Kilcoo)
15. Donal O’Hare (Burren)

19. Peter Fitzpatrick (Ballymartin) for Turley (half-time)
21. Ryan Johnston (Kilcoo) for Paul Devlin (47)
20. Niall Madine (Saval) for McGovern (59)
18. Arthur McConville (Clonduff) for Maginn (63)
23. Jerome Johnston (Kilcoo) for McKernan (66)
26. Ryan Boyle (Warrenpoint) for Collins (69)

Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois)

6 talking points as Dublin and Cork get set for football league final showdown

4-man Armagh lift Division 3 league title as McGeeney celebrates Croke Park glory