Cathal Compton comes into the Rosscommon team for Sunday's game. Tommy Dickson/INPHO
Early bird

Roscommon name team a full week before Connacht final

Cathal Compton replaces Donie Smith, while has recovered David Murray from illness.

ROSCOMMON HAVE TAKEN the unusual step of naming their starting XV a full week in advance of their Connacht SFC final against Galway on Sunday 9 July.

Kevin McStay has made just one change to the team that was named to play Leitrim in the semi-final.

Cathal Compton replaces Donie Smith, while David Murray has recovered from illness ahead of the game.

Sean McDermott will play his 165th match for the team, while Conor Devaney is the next most capped player on 82 appearances.

The fixture takes place at Pearse Stadium, Salthill, next weekend, with throw-in at 2pm.

Roscommon XV to face Galway:

1. Colm Lavin (Éire Óg)

2. David Murray (Pádraig Pearses)
3. John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)
4. Niall McInerney (St Brigid’s)

5. Sean McDermott (Western Gaels)
6. Sean Mullooly (Strokestown)
7. Conor Devaney (Kilbride)

8. Tadgh O’Rourke (Tulsk)
9. Cathal Compton (Strokestown)

10. Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
11. Ciaráin Murtagh (C) St Faithleach’s
12. Enda Smith (Boyle)

13. Brian Stack (St. Brigid’s)
14. Diarmuid Murtagh (St. Faithleach’s)
15. Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)

The following players could not be considered for selection due to injury:
(1) Thomas Corcoran (Collar Bone), (2) Fergal Lennon (Groin), (3) Ciaran Cafferkey (Knee) and (4) Ultan Harney (Back).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Deadly Kerry forward duo, Cork rue goal chances and Fitzmaurice five-in-a-row>

Great scenes as Fionn Fitzgerald recovers from nasty clash to lift Munster cup for Kerry>

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.