Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 4°C Wednesday 21 April 2021

Here's the Scotland squad Vern Cotter will pick from to face Ireland

Ireland’s opener in Murrayfield is just two and a half weeks away.

SCOTLAND COACH VERN Cotter has named two new overseas-born players to his squad for this year’s Six Nations.

Edinburgh duo Simon Berghan, a Kiwi prop who qualifies through his grandfather, and Cornell du Preez, who qualified on residency last year, are in line to win their first international caps during the tournament.

Vern Cotter Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

This Six Nations will be Cotter’s last in charge of Scotland. The Kiwi will return to the Top 14 this summer to become head coach at Montpellier and will be replaced by current Glasgow Warriors coach Gregor Townsend – who provides 16 of the 37 players in the squad announced today.

This Championship will be a chance to sign off on a high note for Cotter though and Ireland will be the first of their three home fixtures in the Championship on 4 February.

Du Preez’ call-up comes in part due to David Denton’s absence. He is on the list of injury absentees and Cotter is hoping that prop WP Nel won’t have to join him in that group, the Edinburgh stalwart goes for a scan on his neck today.

Ireland and Scotland players after the final whistle Source: Colm O'Neill/INPHO

Scotland Six Nations squad 2017


Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors) – 3 caps
Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
Allan Dell (Edinburgh Rugby) – 3 caps
Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) – 4 caps
Willem Nel (Edinburgh Rugby) – 15 caps
Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors) – 19 caps
Jon Welsh (Newcastle Falcons) – 11 caps


Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) – 20 caps
Ross Ford (Edinburgh Rugby) – 102 caps
Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) – 9 caps

Second rows

Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) – 28 caps
Richie Gray (Toulouse) – 60 caps
Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) – 15 caps
Tim Swinson (Glasgow Warriors) – 25 caps
Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) – 1 cap

Back rows

John Barclay (Scarlets) – 55 caps
Cornell Du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby) – uncapped
John Hardie (Edinburgh Rugby) – 13 caps
Rob Harley (Glasgow Warriors) – 19 caps
Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors) – 9 caps
Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) – 5 caps
Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) – 23 caps


Greig Laidlaw CAPTAIN (Gloucester) – 56 caps
Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) – 1 cap
Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) – 18 caps


Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) – 22 caps
Duncan Weir (Edinburgh Rugby) – 23 caps


Mark Bennett (Glasgow Warriors) – 17 caps
Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) – 19 caps
Huw Jones (Stormers) – 3 caps
Matt Scott (Gloucester) – 36 caps
Duncan Taylor (Saracens) – 18 caps

Back threes

Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) – 48 caps
Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh Rugby) – 2 caps
Sean Maitland (Saracens) – 26 caps
Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) – 31 caps
Tim Visser (Harlequins) – 28 caps

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Venue standards, live broadcasts and highlights show part of developments for women’s 6 Nations

Two fancied ex-All Blacks out of the running for Connacht job

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: