Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 12°C Sunday 16 May 2021

Shane O'Neill, Richie Hogan and Brendan Maher in Irish shinty squad

The trio are amongst the 19-man squad who face Scotland next Saturday and then travel to Inverness the following weekend.

Brendan Maher in action for Ireland in shinty in 2011.
Brendan Maher in action for Ireland in shinty in 2011.
Image: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

CORK’S SHANE O’NEILL, Kilkenny’s Richie Hogan and Tipperary’s Brendan Maher are high-profile members of the 19-man Irish shinty squad that face Scotland this weekend.

The teams face off in Croke Park next Saturday afternoon at 4.15pm in a game that is a curtain-raiser to the second International Rules test between Ireland and Australia.

The Hurling-Shinty series is played on a home and away basis and the return game will be played in Bught Park, Inverness on Saturday November 2nd.

Cork’s John Meyler and Kilkenny’s Michael Walsh are the managers of the Irish side again this year with Antrim’s Neil McManus set to be the captain.

2010 Tipperary All-Ireland winner Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher and Laois dual player Cahir Healy are other well-known names in the Ireland squad.

Tickets are €25 for adults and €5 for U16′s for next Saturday’s double-header. They can be purchased online at, outlets and from Centra and SuperValu stores.

Ireland Shinty Squad

1. Bernard Rochford (Kerry)

2. Danny Cullen (Donegal)

3. Paul Divilly (Kildare)

4. David English (Carlow)

5. Aaron Graffin (Antrim)

6. Cahir Healy (Laois)

7. Richie Hogan (Kilkenny)

8. Gareth Johnson (Down)

9. Jack Kavanagh (Carlow)

10. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)

11. Patrick Maher (Tipperary)

12. Kieran McKiernan (Armagh)

13. Neil McManus (Antrim)

14. Derek McNicholas (Westmeath)

15. Darragh O’Connell (Kerry)

16. Eoin Reilly (Laois)

17. Shane O’Neill (Cork)

18. Eoin Price (Westmeath)

19. Conor Woods (Down)

Johnny Doyle and Ciarán McKeever added to Irish squad

1999 All-Ireland winning captain Landers to coach Cork minors

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: