Dublin: 3°C Saturday 27 November 2021

Shane O'Rourke set to play for Meath in first championship game since July 2011

Meath take on Carlow in Dr Cullen Park next Sunday afternoon.

O'Rourke partners Brian Meade at midfield for Meath.
O'Rourke partners Brian Meade at midfield for Meath.
Image: James Crombie

SHANE O’ROURKE IS set to make his first championship appearance for Meath next Sunday since July 2011.

The son of Royals legend Colm has been plagued with injuries in recent years but he has returned to fitness this season and has been named at midfield for Meath’s Leinster quarter-final against Carlow.

Manager Mick O’Dowd has named two championship debutants in corner-back Caolan Young and centre-forward Brian McMahon. Left half-forward Andrew Tormey makes his first start but did come on as a sub in last July’s qualfier defeat to Tyrone in Croke Park.

Right half-forward Donncha Tobin is back in the Meath starting side after being in Australia last year.

Injuries rule out Eoghan Harrington and Bryan Menton for the game but they are expected to return for Meath’s next outing. Long-term injuries rule out Conor Gillespie, Cillian O’Sullivan, Eamon Wallace and Davy Dalton.

1. Paddy O’Rourke – Skryne
2. Caolan Young – Summerhill
3. Kevin Reilly – Navan O’Mahony’s
4. Michael Burke – Longwood
5. Padraic Harnan – Moynalvey
6. Donal Keogan – Rathkenny
7. Damien Carroll – Ballinabrackey
8. Brian Meade – Rathkenny
9. Shane O’Rourke – Simonstown Gaels
10. Donncha Tobin – Blackhall Gaels
11. Brian McMahon – Ratoath
12. Andew Tormey – Donaghmore Ashbourne
13. Graham Reilly – St Colmcille’s
14. Stephen Bray – Navan O’Mahony’s
15. Michael Newman – Kilmainham

Stephen Bray and Brian McMahon with Charlie Vernon Brian McMahon (left) will make his championship debut on Sunday. Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

16. Conor McHugh – Oldcastle
17. Paddy Gilsenan – Oldcastle
18. Adam Flanagan – Clonard
19. Donal Lenihan – St Peter’s Dunboyne
20. Dalton McDonagh – Na Fianna
21. Seamus Kenny – Simonstown Gaels
22. David Bray – Navan O’Mahony’s
23. Mark O’Sullivan – Moynalvey
24. James McEntee – Curraha
25. Sean Curran – Donaghmore Ashbourne
26. David Larkin – Summerhill

Stephen O’Neill’s back for Tyrone while Monaghan have named 11 of their Ulster winning side

Brendan Murphy IS home for the summer but there’s no place for him in the Carlow team

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: