Dublin: 15°C Friday 19 August 2022

Springboks call up 'talented' Stormers captain to replace Snyman for northern hemisphere Tests

Several big names are absent through injury.

Salmaan Moerat pictured during the Stormers' recent clash with Munster at Thomond Park.
Salmaan Moerat pictured during the Stormers' recent clash with Munster at Thomond Park.
Image: INPHO/Ryan Byrne

INJURY-HIT RUGBY World Cup winners South Africa have included two uncapped players in lock Salmaan Moerat and scrum-half Grant Williams in a 32-man squad for November’s tour of Britain.

The Springboks face Wales in Cardiff on 6 November, Scotland in Edinburgh seven days later and England in London on 20 November.

South Africa defeated Wales in the semi-finals and England in the final when they won the World Cup for a record-equalling third time in Japan two years ago.

Injuries have ruled out a number of stars, including winger Cheslin Kolbe, scrum-half Faf de Klerk, prop Frans Malherbe, lock RG Snyman and flanker Pieter-Steph du Toit.

The absence of Munster forward Snyman opened the door for Moerat, who has captained the Stormers in the recently launched United Rugby Championship.

Under his leadership, the Cape Town outfit have performed best of the four South African franchises so far, defeating the Dragons in Wales last weekend after drawing with Edinburgh on a four-match tour.

“Salmaan has established himself as a talented lock and captain since his younger days in our junior structures and he has continued to show his class at senior level,” said coach Jacques Nienaber.

“His call-up is well earned, and we are looking forward to witnessing what he adds to the squad. He is also familiar with most of the players in the squad having either played with or against them.”

Moerat will compete with first choices Eben Etzebeth and Lood de Jager, as well as Marvin Orie and Franco Mostert for the second-row places.

Williams from the Sharks was one of four scrum-halves who travelled to Australia last month for the Rugby Championship, but did not get any game time. With De Klerk sidelined, he will begin the tour third in the pecking order behind Herschel Jantjies and Cobus Reinach.

Jantjies understudied De Klerk at the World Cup, and Nienaber has preferred to bring him off the bench this year in place of Reinach.

A surprise omission was Stormers fullback Warrick Gelant, especially given the poor form of incumbent Willie le Roux during the Rugby Championship.

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member

Apart from Le Roux, Nienaber can choose his fullback from exciting young Aphelele Fassi, Damian Willemse or veteran two-time World Cup winner Francois Steyn.

Having won the Webb Ellis trophy, South Africa went 19 months without a Test due to the coronavirus pandemic, before winning six internationals and losing four this year.

They recovered from a first Test loss to the British and Irish Lions to win the series 2-1, before losing twice to Australia and winning and suffering defeat to New Zealand in the Rugby Championship.

The squad travel to France on Friday for a one-week training camp, before moving to Cardiff, where they have lost on their last four visits. 

South Africa squad

  • Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks)
  • Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers)
  • Vincent Koch (Saracens)
  • Ox Nché (Cell C Sharks)
  • Trevor Nyakane (Vodacom Bulls)
  • Joseph Dweba (Bordeaux Bègles)
  • Malcolm Marx (Kubota Spears)
  • Bongi Mbonambi (DHL Stormers)
  • Lood de Jager (Sale Sharks)
  • Eben Etzebeth (Toulon)
  • Salmaan Moerat (DHL Stormers)
  • Marvin Orie (DHL Stormers)
  • Siya Kolisi (captain, Cell C Sharks)
  • Kwagga Smith (Yamaha Júbilo)
  • Marco van Staden (Leicester Tigers)
  • Duane Vermeulen (Ulster)
  • Jasper Wiese (Leicester Tigers)
  • Franco Mostert (Honda Heat)
  • Herschel Jantjies (DHL Stormers)
  • Cobus Reinach (Montpellier)
  • Grant Williams (Cell C Sharks)
  • Elton Jantjies (NTT Docomo Red Hurricanes)
  • Handré Pollard (Montpellier)
  • Lukhanyo Am (Cell C Sharks)
  • Damian de Allende (Munster)
  • Jesse Kriel (Canon Eagles)
  • Aphelele Fassi (Cell C Sharks)
  • Willie le Roux (Toyota Verblitz)
  • Makazole Mapimpi (Cell C Sharks)
  • Sbu Nkosi (Cell C Sharks)
  • Damian Willemse (DHL Stormers)
  • Frans Steyn (Toyota Cheetahs)

© – AFP, 2021

About the author:


Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel