This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Thursday 9 July, 2020

Stuart Hogg emulates BOD in winning back-to-back Six Nations player of the year awards

Ireland’s CJ Stander finished second in the public vote.

FOR THE SECOND year running, Scotland’s Stuart Hogg has been voted the 2017 Player of the Six Nations as he emulates Brian O’Driscoll in winning the award in consecutive championships.

Hogg received 24.60% of the public vote with Ireland’s CJ Stander (14.95%) and Louis Picamoles of France (12.84%) coming second and third respectively.

Stuart Hogg celebrates winning Source: Craig Watson/INPHO

The Glasgow fullback played a key role for Scotland during this year’s championship as Vern Cotter’s side enjoyed their most successful campaign in 11 years.

Hogg scored a brace of tries in Scotland’s 27-22 win over Ireland at Murrayfield on the opening weekend and added another in Paris, albeit in a losing cause.

“To receive this award again is an absolute honour, particularly when you take other players on the shortlist into account,” the 24-year-old said.

“I’m delighted to be awarded the RBS Player of the Championship Trophy and would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who voted and the fans for their continued support throughout the Championship.”

Source: RBS 6 Nations/YouTube

Paul O’Connell was Ireland’s last winner of the accolade in 2015, while Tommy Bowe (2010) and Brian O’Driscoll (2006, 2007, 2009) are also on the roll of honour.

Six Nations Player of the 2017 Championship shortlist:

  1. Stuart Hogg (Scotland) 24.60%
  2. CJ Stander (Ireland) 14.95%
  3. Louis Picamoles(France) 12.84%
  4. Joe Launchbury (England) 8.96%
  5. Finn Russell (Scotland) 8.35%
  6. Conor Murray (Ireland) 7.91%
  7. Owen Farrell (England) 6.30%
  8. Rhys Webb (Wales) 5.52%
  9. Sergio Parisse (Italy) 3.34%
  10. Ken Owens (Wales) 3.06%
  11. Camille Lopez (France) 2.49%
  12. Maro Itoje (England) 1.68%

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Iain Henderson starts, Stu Olding 10 again for Ulster’s Dragons trip

Ulster flanker Coetzee scheduled to return for start of next season

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next: