This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Sunday 18 November, 2018

Explainer: Here's how the Super 8s are shaping up after the provincial football finals

Kerry, Galway, Dublin and Donegal have safely secured their passage to the last eight.

FOLLOWING THE CONCLUSION of the four provincial football finals, we now know the identity of half the counties that will take part in the inaugural Super 8s which begin in three weeks.

pjimage (37) Shane Murphy, Johnny Cooper, Michael Murphy and Damien Comer captained their counties to provincial glory. Source: Inpho

There are 16 teams left in the race for the Sam Maguire, but only Kerry, Galway, Dublin and Donegal have safely secured their passage to the last eight.

Group 1 will consist of Munster winners Kerry and Connacht champions Galway. They’ll be joined by Fermanagh and Laois or the sides that beat them in Round 4 of the qualifiers.

Leinster kingpins Dublin and Ulster champions Donegal have booked their place in Group 2, with Cork and Roscommon – or their Round 4 qualifier conquerers – joining them.

In the hat for tomorrow morning’s Round 3 qualifier draw (8.30am on RTE Radio 1) are Mayo, Monaghan, Cavan, Tyrone, Kildare, Armagh, Leitrim and Clare. (See the link below for an explainer)

The four Round 3 winners will advance to play the four beaten provincial finalists in Round 4 of the qualifiers on the weekend of 7/8 July for a place in the Super 8s.

On the weekend of 14/15 July, the Super 8s will kick-off with Group 1 sides Dublin and Donegal clashing at Croke Park, while Kerry and Galway will meet in headquarters in Group 2 on the same weekend.

Super 8s

Group 1
Fermanagh/Round 4 winner
Laois/Round 4 winner

Group 2
Cork/Round 4 winner
Roscommon/Round 4 winner

Each county will play three games in the round-robin phase: one at home, one in Croke Park and one away. Dublin, however, will play two games at Croke Park as it counts as their home venue.

The All-Ireland semi-finals line-up will see Group 1 winners play Group 2 runners-up and vice-versa. If teams in the groups finish level on points, scoring difference will apply before their head-to-head record comes into play.


Who do you think will join the provincial champions in the Super 8s?

Poll Results:

Cora Staunton starts for Mayo but Galway win out to lift Connacht title

Dublin blow Laois away with 18-point victory to land record 8th Leinster crown in-a-row

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel