Tipp All-Ireland minor winners key as Templemore see off Thurles in Harty Cup

Our Lady’s Templemore bagged three goals en route to victory today.

Ray McCormick with Cathal Bourke, Keith Ryan and Odhran Quirke Ray McCormack bagged two goals for Our Lady's Templemore during today's win. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Our Lady’s Templemore 3-14
Thurles CBS 1-10

Jackie Cahill reports from The Ragg

THREE MEMBERS OF Tipperary’s 2016 All-Ireland minor winning team helped ease Our Lady’s Templemore into the last four of the Harty Cup this afternoon.

Last year’s Premier County captain Brian McGrath, Paddy Cadell and Lyndon Fairbrother were prominent as Our Lady’s, runners-up last year, saw off the challenge of local rivals Thurles CBS at the quarter-final stage.

Darragh Woods bagged ten points for Thurles CBS but still finished on the losing side in front of a huge crowd at The Ragg.

Darragh Woods dejected after the game Darragh Woods hit 0-10 as Thurles CBS fell to defeat Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Playing against a strong breeze from the start, Templemore still did enough to lead by 2-4 to 0-8 at half-time.

Andrew Ormonde placed Ray McCormack for the first of his two goals in the eighth minute before McCormack turned provider for David O’Shea seven minutes before the break.

McGrath, named at centre back but operating in attack, became more prominent in the second half as Templemore, one of the competition favourites, turned the screw.

Anthony McKelvey and Brian McGrath Brian McGrath (in possession) was key to Our Lady's Templemore's victory Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Inside the final ten minutes, Templemore had moved into their biggest lead of the game – eight points – before Thurles sub Odhran Quirke netted a 54th minute goal after being set up by Eoin Barry.

But Templemore hit an unanswered 1-2 from there until the finish as McCormack added a second goal in the final minute, his effort too good for Ewan Bourke, who got a stick to it. but couldn’t keep it out.

Templemore will face another Tipp opponent in the last four after Nenagh CBS edged past De La Salle by just a single point after extra-time.

Scorers for Our Lady’s: Ray McCormack 2-0, Brian McGrath 0-5 (0-3f), David O’Shea 1-1, Jerry Kelly 0-3, Lyndon Fairbrother 0-2, Stevie Nolan, Aidan O’Meara & Andrew Ormonde 0-1 each.

Scorers for Thurles CBS: Darragh Woods 0-10 (0-6f, 1 ’65, 1 sl), Odhran Quirke 1-0.

Eoin Barry and Darren Flood with Neil Quinlan Last year's finalists Our Lady's Templemore have booked a semi-final place. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Our Lady’s Templemore

1. Eoin Collins (Drom & Inch)

2. Eoghan Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney)
3. Paraic Campion (Drom & Inch)
4. Delacy Byrne (Clonakenny)

5. Neil Quinlan (JK Brackens)
27. Paddy Cadell (JK Brackens)
7. Aidan O’Meara (Drom & Inch)

8. Diarmuid Ryan (Clonakenny)
9. Stevie Nolan (Drom & Inch)

10. David O’Shea (JK Brackens)
6. Brian McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Jerry Kelly (Borris-Ileigh)

13. Andrew Ormonde (JK Brackens)
11. Ray McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
14. Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens)


19. Sean Ryan (Templederry Kenyons) for Byrne (57)
17. Jack Ryan (Toomevara) for D Ryan (57)
20 Jason Gilmartin (Roscrea) for Ormonde (59)
15. Shane Doyle (JK Brackens) for Kelly (60+1)
18. Gearoid O’Connor (Moyne/Templetuohy) for O’Shea (60+2).

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

Thurles CBS

1. Ewan Bourke (Holycross/Ballycahill)

2. Dean Carew (Upperchurch-Drombane)
3. Eddie O’Gorman (Holycross/Ballycahill)
4. Jimmy Ryan (Holycross/Ballycahill)

5. James Ryan (Clonoulty-Rossmore)
6. Michael Purcell (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Killian O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

8. Seosamh Ryan (Thurles Sarsfields)
9. Bryan O’Mara (Holycross/Ballycahill)

12. Cathal Bourke (Clonoulty-Rossmore)
10. Conor Bowe (Moyne/Templetuohy)
15. Eoin Barry (Killenaule)

11. Darragh Woods (Holycross/Ballycahill)
14. Anthony McKelvey (Moycarkey/Borris)
13. Darren Flood (Moycarkey/Borris)


22. Odhran Quirke (Clonoulty-Rossmore) for Jimmy Ryan (37)
19. Ciaran Connolly (Loughmore-Castleiney) for James Ryan (57)
18. TJ Butler (Upperchurch-Drombane) for Bowe (57)
23. Keith Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane) for Flood (58)
21. Michael Nally (Holycross/Ballycahill) Barry (60).

Referee: John McCormack (Tipperary)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Champions Ardscoil Rís force quarter-final replay as Nenagh CBS claim extra-time win

3 goals help Cork’s St Colman’s book Harty Cup semi-final place with win over Christians

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: