Dramatic Thurles comeback secures Munster Dean Ryan Cup title against Midleton

The Tipperary school came from seven points down in Clonmel.

A three-point victory for the winners in Clonmel.
A three-point victory for the winners in Clonmel.
Image: Cathal Noonan

Thurles CBS 3-15
Midleton CBS 2-15

Conor Kane reports from Clonmel

SEVEN POINTS DOWN as this game approached its final quarter, Thurles CBS produced a remarkable turnaround down the stretch as they scored 2-7 and conceded just 0-2 to take the spoils in today’s Munster (U16 1/2 AHC) Dean Ryan Cup final in Clonmel.

The Midleton lads must have felt they had one hand on the trophy when two goals by Kyle Quinn Waites and some typically reliable long-range free-taking from Ryan McCarthy put them into a commanding position as the second half gathered steam.

They had answered an early Thurles flurry in the first half, a goal by Jack Lanigan and pointed free from Stephen Ferncombe, with six points on the spin and an evenly-divided opening period ended with Midleton 0-10 to 1-5 ahead at the interval.

Three quick points after the break from Thurles put them back in front but then followed Midleton’s most dominant spell, helped by that brace of close-range goals from Quinn Waites.

A general view of hurley and sliotar's Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

The Thurles comeback began when a long Paddy Creedon shot came back off the post and Stephen Ferncombe was sharpest to the rebound and blasted it to the net, and a minute later a Jack Lanigan goal following a long Devon Ryan free which broke in the danger zone, left Thurles just a point behind.

Ferncombe bagged a couple of points, with a score on the run from the excellent Devon Ryan soon after, and suddenly the cup was Thurles’s to lose, more points following from Darren Flood and Ryan with a close-in free by Sean Walsh leaving three between the teams.

The closing minutes were tight as Midleton pressed for a goal which could have put the decider into extra-time, but it wasn’t to be and it was Thurles who were celebrating.

Scorers for Thurles CBS: Stephen Ferncombe 1-6 (0-4f), Jack Lanigan 2-2, Devon Ryan 0-4, Darren Flood 0-2, Edmond Connolly 0-1.

Scorers for Midleton CBS: Kyle Quinn Waites 2-0, Ryan McCarthy 0-6 (0-6f), Sean Walsh 0-5 (0-5f), Olan Broderick 0-2, James Mulcahy 0-1, Ritchie Landers 0-1.

Thurles CBS

1. Jason O’Dwyer (Clonoulty-Rossmore)

2. Martin Paul O’Dwyer (Boherlahan-Dualla)
3. Conor Stapleton (Durlas Óg)
4. AJ Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane)

8. Edmond Connolly (Loughmore-Castleiney)
5. Kevin Hayes (Moycarkey-Borris)
7. Kieran Costello (Durlas Óg)

9. Ryan Walsh (Fethard)
13. Devon Ryan (Knockavilla Kickhams)

11. Jack Lanigan (Durlas Óg)
10. Eoin Purcell (Durlas Óg)
12. Chris Munroe (Thurles Gaels)

19. Stephen Ferncombe (Clonoulty-Rossmore)
15. Paddy Creedon (Durlas Óg)
14. Darren Flood (Moycarkey-Borris)


17. Jack Leamy (Golden-Kilfeacle) for Purcell (47)
22. Jack Lillis (Drom-Inch) for Creedon (58)

Midleton CBS

1. Alex Quirke (Midleton)

2. Eanna Motherway (St Colman’s)
6. Ritchie Landers (Killeagh)
4. Leo Hennessy (Midleton)

5. Ryan McCarthy (Killeagh)
3. Jack Fitzgerald (Midleton)
7. Noel Cahill (St Colman’s)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

8. Sam Quirke (Midleton)
9. Olan Broderick (Killeagh)

10. Ciaran Joyce (Kiltha Óg)
11. Cathal Hickey (Lisgoold)
12. James Mulcahy (Carrigtwohill)

13. Eoghan Martin (Kiltha Óg)
14. Kyle Quinn Waites (Kiltha Óg)
15. Sean Walsh (Carrigtwohill)


20 Jake Shine (Fr O’Neills) for Martin (49)

Referee: Thomas Walsh (Waterford)

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

Two-time All-Ireland winner confirmed as Offaly’s new hurling boss

Kerry GAA dismiss Spillane’s claim that they were told to reject funds from Gooch’s testimonial

About the author:

Conor Kane

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel