Dublin: 17°C Tuesday 22 June 2021

There was heartbreak for Seamus Callanan in the Tipp SHC today

Daire Quinn popped over the winning score for 2013 runners-up Éire Óg Nenagh today.

File pic.
File pic.
Image: Cathal Noonan

Thurles Sarsfields 2-20

Kilruane MacDonagh’s 1-17


Drom & Inch 2-16

Nenagh Éire Óg 1-20 (after extra-time, Drom & Inch 2-12, Nenagh 1-15 after 60 minutes).  

SEAMUS CALLANAN’S DROM & Inch were dumped out of the Tipperary senior hurling championship in dramatic fashion this afternoon.

Daire Quinn popped over the winning score for 2013 runners-up Éire Óg Nenagh in the second minute of stoppage time at the end of extra time, to finally settle a tie that had been level 11 times.

This Clean Ireland Recycling county semi-final appeared to be heading for a replay next weekend before Quinn popped over the winner from the New Stand side of the field at Semple Stadium.

Mikey Heffernan’s free in the fifth minute of stoppage time had taken the game into extra-time as Nenagh drew level at 1-15 to 2-12.

Heffernan’s score tied the game for the eighth time at that stage and Nenagh full-back Noel Moloney was the most relieved man in Thurles.

It was Moloney’s poor clearance that allowed David Collins to shoot Drom in front, with what looked like the winner, before Heffernan held his nerve with a long-range monster from inside his own half.

In front of 4025 spectators, the sides were level at half-time — 2-5 to 1-8.

Callanan buried a 10th minute penalty for Drom before David Butler netted a minute later.

But rather than roll over following that two-goal sucker punch, Nenagh went about eating into a five-point deficit.

Andrew Coffey’s 15th minute goal helped to reduce the deficit and a run of four unanswered points before half-time ensured parity, before Heffernan put Nenagh ahead with the opening point of the second half.

It was a tit-for-tat second period and extra-time was perhaps inevitable, with little to separate a Drom side coached by 2010 All-Ireland winning boss Liam Sheedy, and Nenagh.

There was still nothing to separate the teams at half-time in extra-time 2-14 to 1-17 — but Nenagh found back from a point down in the second period to claim a dramatic win.

In the first game, holders Thurles Sarsfields held off a spirited fightback from Kilruane MacDonagh’s to claim a six-point victory and set up a showdown with Nenagh in two weeks’ time.

Sars lost county star Michael Cahill to a second yellow card in the final minutes and were hanging on by a point before producing a strong late finish.

Aidan McCormack’s stoppage-time goal took his match tally to 1-6 from play and former Tipp star Pa Bourke nailed a late free to finish with 1-8 (1-3 from play).

Sars, with Cahill’s Tipp colleagues Lar Corbett, Denis Maher and the Maher brothers Pádraic and Ronan in their ranks, made heavy weather of it against a dogged MacDonagh’s outfit before booking their place in a third final in four years.

They conceded the first goal of the game to Cian Darcy, a Tipp minor this year, in the third minute, but responded in kind through Bourke three minutes later, a goal that had been coming as alarming gaps were being exposed in the MacDonagh’s defence.

Bourke had 1-6 on the board by half-time as Sars led by 1-14 to 1-7 but Kieran Cahill, who collected 0-7 in total, was keeping MacDonagh’s clinging onto their coattails.

After seven first-half wides for MacDonagh’s, it was the turn of Sars to be profligate in the second half as they racked up eight of their own.

MacDonagh’s dominated the puckout stats in the second half and that helped them back into contention in the second half.

It was 1-17 to 1-18 when Ray McLoughney pointed the resultant effort after Cahill had hauled down Brian O’Meara for a late free.

Bourke steadied Sars nerves to push them two clear before McCormack finished well to put the end result beyond any doubt.

Meanwhile, the Tipperary SFC final will be contested by Moyle Rovers and Clonmel Commercials next Sunday.

Moyle Rovers defeated Arravale Rovers by 2-15 to 1-14 in Cashel as goals from Ross Mulcahy and Peter Acheson proved decisive.

Tipperary senior ace Acheson struck late on to set up a showdown with Commercials, who beat Aherlow Gaels by 0-9 to 0-5.


Scorers for Thurles Sarsfields: Pa Bourke 1-8 (0-5f), Aidan McCormack 1-6, Denis Maher 0-3, Stephen Cahill 0-2, Lar Corbett 0-1.

Scorers for Kilruane MacDonagh’s: Kieran Cahill 0-7 (4f), Cian Darcy 1-0, Seamus Hennessy 0-3 (1f), Ray McLoughney (1f) & Niall O’Meara 0-2 each, Brian O’Meara, Kevin Quinlan & Thomas Cleary 0-1 each.


Scorers for Drom & Inch: Seamus Callanan 1-3 (1-0 pen, 0-3f), David Butler 1-2, Johnny Ryan 0-3 (1f), Seamus Butler 0-2, Kevin Butler, Eamonn Buckley, Enda Walsh, James Woodlock, David Collins & Tommy Nolan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Éire Óg Nenagh: Mikey Heffernan 0-7 (6f), Andrew Coffey 1-1, Tommy Heffernan 0-4, Daire Quinn, Killian Gleeson & James Mackey (2f) 0-2 each, Barry Heffernan & Paddy Murphy 0-1 each.

Clare hurling legend conjures a virtuoso performance as Sixmilebridge claim county title>

The All-Ireland club champions have won their third consecutive county title>

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: