Tipperary crush Clare to set up Munster U21 final rematch with Cork

Greg Henry and Liam McGrath found the net for Tipperary in Miltown Malbay tonight.

Conor O'Sullivan was in action for Tipperary tonight.
Conor O'Sullivan was in action for Tipperary tonight.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Tipperary 2-22
Clare 0-9

GOALS FROM GREG Henry and Liam McGrath helped Tipperary crush Clare in tonight’s Munster U21 football semi-final in Miltown Malbay.

The Premier county were hugely impressive as they claimed a 19-point victory and set up a final rematch with Cork – twelve months after losing out to the Rebels in the decider.

Tipperary maintained the impressive form they displayed last week against Waterford in accounting for the Banner tonight. Clare had the wind in the first-half with Martin O’Leary and Niall Hickey ensuring they kept the scoreboard ticking over early on.

Clare led 0-5 to 0-4 by the 20th minute mark but they shipped five points in a row before the break as Tipperary moved into a healthy position at the break.

Tipperary took over in the second-half with senior forward Michael Quinlivan excelling with his point-taking. The game was essentially put to bed in the 44th minute when Henry found the net for the first goal of the game.

Tipperary were ahead 1-16 to 0-8 entering the final quarter and they piled on the scores in the closing stages with Quinlivan leading the way. The second goal arrived just before the finish from Liam McGrath as Tipperary moved comfortably into the decider.

Scorers for Tipperary: Michael Quinlivan 0-6, Greg Henry 1-2, John McGrath 0-4, Liam McGrath 1-1, Stephen O’Brien 0-3, Sean Flynn (0-1f), Colin O’Riordan 0-2 each, Bill Maher, Adrian McGuire 0-1 each.Scorers for Clare: Niall Hickey 0-7 (0-6f), Martin O’Leary 0-2 (0-1f).

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

TIPPERARY: Gearoid Slattery (Cashel King Cormacs); Niall O’Sullivan (Moycarkey Borris), James Feehan (Killenaule), Conor O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers); Adrian McGuire (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Seamus Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash); Steven O’Brien (Ballina), Colin O’Riordan (JK Brackens); John McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), Greg Henry (Killenaule); Liam McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney), Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials), Sean Flynn (Fr Sheehys).

CLARE: Darren Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane); Conor Brennan (Eire Og), Enda Ralph (Ennistymon), Jack O’Dea (Kilfenora); Stan Lineen (Kilmihil), Eoin Brew (O’Curry’s), Liam Corry (Eire Og); Darragh McDonagh (St. Joseph’s Miltown Malbay), Ciaran Devitt (Ennistymon); Darragh Bolton (Kilrush Shamrocks), Luke Brannock (St Joseph’s Doora/Barefield), Niall Hickey (Kilmurry Ibrickane); Jamie Malone (Corofin), Martin O’Leary (Kilmihil), Eoin Cleary (Miltown Malbay).

Referee: Richard Moloney (Limerick)

Cork claim 16-point win over Limerick to maintain bid for Munster U21 four-in-a-row

Dublin atone for 2013 loss to Longford as they reach Leinster U21 final

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: