Dublin and Tipperary players battle for possession.
Premier Power

Strong Tipperary finish sees off Dublin to book All-Ireland minor hurling final place

Tipperary will face Galway in the decider on 6 September.

Tipperary 2-17
Dublin 1-15

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

TIPPERARY PRODUCED A powerful late finish to surge past Dublin today and book a place in the Electric Ireland All-Ireland minor hurling final on 6 September against Galway.

Ciarán Dowling’s fourth point of the day edged Dublin in front 1-14 to 2-10 in the 46th minute and a tight finale looked in prospect.

But Tipperary outscored Dublin by 0-7 to 0-1 in the closing stages to claim a five-point victory.

Goals from David Gleeson in the 10th minute and Tommy Nolan in the 18th minute had pushed the Munster champions ahead by 2-3 to 0-5 during the first-half.

Liam Cahill Tipperary manager Liam Cahill Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Gleeson finished after good work by top scorer Lyndon Fairbrother while man-of-the-match Nolan converted a chance after a break by Cian Darcy.

Yet a goal from Fergal Whitely brought Dublin back into contention in the 21st minute with Alex Considine the creator in chief.

Midfielder Matthew Oliver was outstanding for Dublin in hitting 0-7 in the opening period and he finished with 0-10 to his credit.

Fergal Whitely scores his side's first goal Fergal Whitely bags Dublin's opening goal Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Tipperary were in front 2-6 to 1-6 approaching the interval before Dowling and Oliver (2) raised white flags to ensure the teams were deadlock at the break.

Dublin started the second-half splendidly with Considine and Oliver pushing them into a two-point lead.

But Tipperary gradually settled and indeed took a 2-10 to 1-12 lead with a point from substitute Ruadhan Mulrooney in the 44th minute.

Emmet Moloney and Kevin Hassett celebrate at the end of the game Emmet Moloney and Kevin Hassett celebrate Tipperary's win. Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

A brace of Dowing points restored Dublin’s advantage before Tipperary took over proceedings.

Fairbrother was central to their scoring spree and Tipperary could have got a third goal in the 55th minute but Alan Tynan’s effort was disallowed as the referee had blown for an earlier free.

It didn’t stem Tipperary’s drive with substitute Shane Neville hitting the insurance point in injury-time to round off a fine afternoon’s work.

Scorers for Tipperary: Lyndon Fairbrother 0-7 (0-4f, 0-1 ’65), Tommy Nolan 1-3, David Gleeson 1-0, Ruadhán Mulrooney 0-2, Shane Neville, Daragh Carey, Alan Tynan, Garry Ryan, Cian Darcy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin: Matthew Oliver 0-10 (0-7f, 0-1 ’65), Ciarán Dowling 0-4, Fergal Whitely 1-0, Alex Considine 0-1.

James Quigley with Gavin King at the end of the game James Quigley commiserates with Gavin King after the game. Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO


1. Padraic Hayes (Ballingarry)

2. Enda Heffernan (Clonoulty Rossmore)
3. Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch)
4. James Quigley (Kildangan)

5. Kevin Hassett (Drom & Inch)
6. Brian McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
7. Darragh Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs)

8. Darragh Carey (Templederry Kenyons)
9. Liam McCutcheon (Templederry Kenyons)

10. Cian Darcy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
11. Garry Ryan (Borrisokane)
12. Alan Tynan (Roscrea)

13. Thomas Nolan (Drom & Inch)
14. David Gleeson (Ballinahinch)
15. Lyndon Fairbrother (JK Brackens)

20. Ruadhán Mulrooney (Portroe) for McCutcheon (24)
18. Jack Skehan (Holycross Ballycahill) for Darcy (46)
21. Michael Connors (Drom & Inch) for Gleeson (46)
23. Shane Neville (Lattin Cullen) for Ryan (61)

Tommy Nolan scores his side's second goal Tommy Nolan fires home Tipperary's second goal Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO


1. Eoin Skelly (Na Fianna)

2. Cian Hendricken (Naomh Mearnog)
3. Darragh Butler (Kilmacud Crokes)
4. Conor Ryan (Craobh Chiarain)

5. Eoin Foley (Naomh Olaf)
6. Paddy Smyth (Clontarf)
7. Daire Gray (Whitehall Colmcille)

8. Matthew Oliver (Na Fianna)
9. Carl Sammon (Craobh Chiarain)

10. Eoghan Conroy (St Maur’s)
11. Mark Maguire (St Jude’s)
12. Ciaran Dowling (Lucan Sarsfields)

13. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes)
14. Alex Considine (Kilmacud Crokes)
15. Eoghan Dunne (St Brigid’s)

19. Cian O’Sullivan (St Brigid’s) for Dunne (40)
21. Gavin King (Na Fianna) for Whitely (43)
18. Donnacha Ryan (St Brigid’s) for Gray (45)
23. Conor Burke (St Vincent’s) for O’Sullivan (58)
20. Sean Hickey (Fingallians) for Sammon (59)

Referee: Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow)

Two late goals hand Galway victory over Kilkenny in All-Ireland minor replay

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.