Dublin: 20°C Monday 15 August 2022

Stunning Tipperary display clinches All-Ireland and ends Kilkenny three-in-a-row dream

Goals from John O’Dwyer and John McGrath were key as the Premier triumphed.

Image: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Tipperary 2-29
Kilkenny 2-20

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

TIPPERARY FINALLY BROKE the stranglehold that Kilkenny have exerted on them in recent times and they achieved that with a stunning display in today’s All-Ireland final in Croke Park.

For the first time since 2010, Tipperary lifted the Liam MacCarthy Cup and it was a victory that was hugely deserved as they chalked up an incredible total of 2-29 on the scoreboard.

They ended Kilkenny’s aspirations of three-in-a-row as they upped the ante in the second-half with John O’Dwyer and John McGrath both raising green flags at crucial stages.

Full-forward Seamus Callanan was another Premier star as he hit 0-13 including nine superb efforts from play.

Tipperary were ahead 0-14 to 0-12 at the interval but were rocked early in the second-half when newcomer Kevin Kelly found the net for Kilkenny in the 42nd minute.

However Tipperary responded magnificently with O’Dwyer and McGrath smashing shots past Kilkenny netminder Eoin Murphy in the 49th and 61st minutes respectively.

There was a flicker of hope for Brian Cody’s side when Richie Hogan found the net at the other end in an instant response to that McGrath.

But ultimately there was no disputing Tipperary’s superiority as they outscored Kilkenny by 2-15 to 2-8 in the second-half.

The pattern of the first-half saw the teams refusing to yield as they stayed close to each other. Kilkenny may have been in front 0-3 to 0-1 after seven minutes but Tipperary soon reeled them in and indeed the teams were level ten times on the scoreboard in the opening period.

Tipperary had performed impressively with their forwards working ferociously hard and they were rewarded with an interval advantage thanks to late first-half points from Callanan and O’Dwyer.

Kilkenny are famed for their third quarter displays and there was a sense they were producing another power-packed showing when Kelly grabbed that goal. Trailing 1-14 to 0-15, Tipperary were tested but they responded in formidable fashion.

After that Kilkenny strike, Tipperary hit 1-4 without reply. It was a key phase of the game as Ronan and Padraic Maher shone in defence while Callanan, John McGrath and O’Dwyer sparkled in attack.

By the 55th minute Tipperary had stormed 1-22 to 1-15 clear and were grateful for goalkeeper Darren Gleeson repelling Kelly’s attempt to shoot a second goal.

The final nail was hammered into Kilkenny’s coffin with McGrath’s blast to the net after profiting from his brother Noel’s hard work to intercept a Kilkenny defensive clearance.

Kilkenny demonstrated their brilliant refusal to bend by ploughing on but Hogan’s first-time whip was the only green flag they raised as Tipperary’s defence could not be prised apart.

Tipperary team celebrate with the Liam MacCarthy cup Tipperary players celebrate their victory Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO


Scorers for Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 0-13 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65), John O’Dwyer 1-5 (0-1 sideline, 0-1f), John McGrath 1-3, Jason Forde, Patrick Maher 0-2 each, Noel McGrath, Seamus Kennedy, Padraic Maher, Dan McCormack 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-11 (0-10f, 0-1 ’65), Kevin Kelly 1-2, Richie Hogan 1-1, Eoin Larkin, Padraig Walsh 0-2 each, Cillian Buckley, Walter Walsh 0-1 each.


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

5. Seamus Kennedy (St. Marys)
6. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
7. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfield)

8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Michael Breen (Ballina)

10. Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
12. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
13. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

See Sport

Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership

Become a Member


19. Jason Forde (Silvermines) for Breen (44)
25. Niall O’Meara (Kilruane McDonaghs) for McCormack (62)
22. Donagh Maher (Burgress) for Cahill (64)
17. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule) for Noel McGrath (69)
20. Tomás Hamill (Moyne-Templetuohy) for Kennedy (72)


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
4. Shane Prendergast (Clara)

5. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
6. Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

8. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
9. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)

12. Eoin Larkin (James Stephens)
11. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)
10. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)

13. Kevin Kelly (St Patricks)
14. Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
15. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)


18. Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge) for Joyce (60)
21. Lester Ryan (Clara) for Larkin (60)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: