Dublin: 18°C Monday 18 October 2021

43 scores served up as Tipperary win Munster intermediate battle against Limerick

Extra-time was needed in today’s opening game in Semple Stadium.

Willie Griffin (right) was in action for Limerick today - file photo
Willie Griffin (right) was in action for Limerick today - file photo
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Tipperary 3-17
Limerick 1-22

LATE GOALS FROM Tony O’Brien and Kevin Fox handed Tipperary a dramatic win over Limerick after extra-time in today’s Munster IHC semi-final in Semple Stadium.

It was a heartbreaking defeat for Limerick with Fox billowing the net at the finish before Heffernan supplied the winning point. Those scores arrived on the back of Tony O’Brien netting in the 74th minute after being fed by Heffernan.

Tipperary had controlled the opening period of the game with Heffernan firing home a superb early goal that helped them lead by 1-10 to 0-7 at the break.

But Limerick bounced back in the second-half with Mike Ryan notching a 40th minute goal while Willie Griffin, David O’Neill and Mike Fitzgerald were all outstanding.

They moved 1-15 to 1-13 ahead with seven minutes left but Tipperary recovered through two late frees by O’Brien, the second of them deep in injury-time, to force extra-time.

Limerick made the running to go in front by 1-18 to 1-16 at the midway mark of extra-time yet Tipperary hurt them at a critical stage to fire home the goals that sealed a Munster final place.

Scorers for Tipperary: Tony O’Brien 1-6 (0-4f), Tommy Heffernan 1-3, Kevin Fox 1-1, David Collins, Michael Sheedy 0-2 each, Thomas Cleary, John Sheedy, Aiden McGrath (0-1 ’65) 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Willie Griffin 0-8 (0-5f, 0-1 ’65), Mike Ryan 1-2, David O’Neill 0-3, Mike Fitzgerald 0-3 each, Peter Ryan, Paudie Leahy 0-2 each, Andrew Brennan, Ritchie Ryan 0-1 each.

Andrew Ryan Andrew Ryan was in action for Tipperary's intermediate side today. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

1. James Logue – Ballingarry
2. Pat Ryan – Clonakenny
3. Andrew Ryan – Toomevara
4. Daire Quinn – Nenagh Eire Og
5. Aiden McGrath – Loughmore Castleiney
6. Ronan Sherlock – Silveriness
7. Brian Stapleton – Templederry Kenyons
8. Denis Stapleton – Sean Treacys
9. Joe Gallagher – Kildangan
10. Tommy Heffernan – Nenagh Eire Og
11. Michael Sheedy – Portroe
12. Thomas Cleary – Kilruane McDonaghs
13. Tony O’Brien – St Patrick’s
14. John Sheedy – Portroe
15. David Collins – Drom & Inch

21. Kevin Fox (Eire Og Annacarty) for Cleary (39)
17. Paudie White (Clonoulty Rossmore) for Stapleton (49)
24. Bill Walsh (Carrick Swan) for Collins (54)
8. Stapleton for Gallagher (60)
15. Collins for John Sheedy (70)
9. Gallagher for Stapleton (70)

Brian Murray Brian Murray started between the posts for Limerick today. Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO

1. Brian Murray – Patrickswell
2. John Ryan – Cappamore
3. Mike Reidy – Dromin-Athlacca
4. Jason Hayes – Bruff
5. Peter Ryan – Dromin-Athlacca
6. Andrew Brennan – Caherline
7. Cathal McNamara – Doon
8. Seanie O Brien – Patrickswell
9. Mark O’Connell – Glenroe
10. Kevin Palmer – Blackrock
11. Brendan Hourigan – Caherline
12. David O’Neill – South Liberties
13. Padraic Barron – Knockainey
14. Mike Ryan – Murroe-Boher
15. Willie Griffin – Adare

24. Denis Moloney (Doon) for O’Connell (18)
23. Mike Fitzgerald (Doon) for Palmer (24)
18. Paudie Leahy (Blackrock) for Hourigan (32)
22. Mark Deegan (Hospital Herbertstown) for Hayes (38)
20. Pat Gleeson (Na Piarsaigh) for Barron (54)
16. Seamus Murphy (Templeglantine) for Murray (inj) (68)

Referee: Damien Fox (Clare)

LIVE: Tipperary v Limerick, Munster senior hurling semi-final

Goals from Austin and Grogan end Tipp’s long wait for Championship win

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: