This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Tuesday 22 January, 2019

Tipp and Clare name teams for repeat of last year's U21 final

Senior panellist Ronan Maher has been picked in Tipp’s half-back line for the clash in Ennis.

Tipp have named Ronan Maher in their starting team.
Tipp have named Ronan Maher in their starting team.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

TIPPERARY AND CLARE have named their teams for the Bórd Gáis Energy Munster U21 Hurling semi-final at Cusack Park tomorrow evening.

Current senior hurling panellist Ronan Maher is in the half-back line of a strong Tipp side, while senior footballer Colin O’Riordan has been selected at half-forward.

Six of the team that were beaten by Clare in last year’s Munster U21 final are involved again for this encounter, namely Michael Breen, Cathal Barrett, Tomas Hamill, Seamus Kennedy, Jason Forde and Liam McGrath.

Meanwhile, Clare have Jack Browne, Alan O’Neill, Colm Galvin, Tony Kelly, Peter Duggan and Aaron Cunningham back from the team that was victorious in last season’s final.

Shane McGrath, who recently showed off his skills, is included in the half-forward line alongside Duggan and  Jamie Shanahan.

Throw-in at Cusack Park, Ennis tomorrow is at 7.30pm.


1. Keith Hogan (Clooney-Quin)

2. Jarlath Colleran (Doora-Barefield)

3. Jack Browne (Ballyea)

4. Seadna Morey (Sixmilebridge)

5. Conor Cleary (Kilmaley)

6. Alan O’Neill (St. Josephs Doora Barefield)

7. Gearoid O’Connell (Ballyea)

8. Colm Galvin (Clonlara)

9. Tony Kelly (Ballyea)

10. Jamie Shanahan (Sixmilebridge)

11. Shane McGrath (Feakle)

12. Peter Duggan (Clooney-Quin)

13. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle)

14. Aaron Cunningham (Wolfe Tones)

15. David Reidy (Éire Óg)


1. Paul Maher (Moyne Templetuohy)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross Ballycahill)

3. Michael Breen (Ballina)

4. Tom Fox (Éire Óg Anacarty)

5. Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)

6. John Meagher (Loughmore Castleiney)

7. Tomas Hamill Moyne (Templetuohy)

8. Seamus Kennedy (St Marys)

9. Bill Maher (Kilsheelan Kilcash)

10. Colin O’Riordan (J K Brackens)

11. Liam McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)

12. Dan McCormack (Borris Ileigh)

13. Stephen Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)

14. Jason Forde (Capt.) (Silvermines)

15. Sean Maher (Clonoulty Rossmore)


16. Jimmy Maher (Clonoulty Rossmore)

17. Conor Hammersley (Clonoulty Rossmore)

18. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)

19. Dylan Fitzelle (Cashel King Cormacs)

20. Tadhg Gallagher (Kildangan)

21. Sean Nally (Holycross Ballycahill)

22. David Sweeney (Kildangan)

23. Brian Hogan (Lorrha Dorrha)

24. Steven O’Brien (Ballina)

Waterford and Cork include senior stars in teams for U21 semi

John Gardiner – Cork give the Páirc a send off as Wexford and Tipp build momentum

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next: