Dublin: 6°C Thursday 2 December 2021

Five star! Tipperary's goals see them storm to Munster title with 21-point win over Waterford

John McGrath hit a hat-trick for the Premier.

John McGrath celebrates scoring a goal for Tipperary
John McGrath celebrates scoring a goal for Tipperary
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Tipperary 5-19
Waterford 0-13

TIPPERARY RETAINED THEIR Munster senior hurling crown at their ease this afternoon at the Gaelic Grounds, putting five goals past Waterford and storming into an All-Ireland semi-final on 14 August.

John McGrath struck 3-2 and Seamus Callanan hit 1-11 as Waterford were unable to handle the Tipperary attacking duo.

Michael Ryan saw his team run out 21-point winners, equaling the victory margin Tipperary recorded against Waterford in the 2011 Munster final.

It was a remarkable outcome given that the first-half had been tightly contested with Tipperary narrowly in front at the interval as they possessed a 1-7 to 0-8 advantage.

McGrath struck the only goal of the first-half in the 9th minute, availing of a mis-control by goalkeeper Stephen O’Keeffe.

Waterford had started brightly but they went 20 minutes without scoring in the first-half and recorded 10 wides.

And Tipperary emerged from the second-half to put the game to bed as they hit three goals in the space of eight minutes that ruined Waterford’s hopes of glory.

McGrath kicked to the net in the 41st minute, set up Michael Breen for a fine strike three minutes left before raising a green flag from a penalty after Callanan was fouled by Barry Coughlan.

Waterford’s miserable afternoon was complete when Callanan crashed home Tipperary’s fifth goal as the Premier ran out comfortable winners.

Scorers for Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 1-11 (0-8f, 0-1 ’65), John McGrath 3-2 (1-0 pen), Michael Breen 1-1, Padraic Maher, Patrick Maher, Noel McGrath, Jason Forde, Aidan McCormack 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-6 (0-4f), Patrick Curran 0-5 (0-3f), Austin Gleeson 0-2 (0-2 sideline).


1. Darren Gleeson – Portroe

2. Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill
3. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane
4. Michael Cahill – Thurles Sarsfields

5. Seamus Kennedy – St. Mary’s
6. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
7. Padraic Maher – Thurles Sarsfields

8. Brendan Maher (Capt.) – Borris-Ileigh
9. Michael Breen – Ballina

10. Dan McCormack – Borris-Ileigh
11. Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha
12. Noel McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney

13. John McGrath – Loughmore-Castleiney
14. Seamus Callanan – Drom & Inch
15. Niall O’Meara – Kilruane MacDonaghs


Jason Forde (Silvermines) for O’Meara (50)
Sean Curran (Mullinahone) for McCormack (56)
Kieran Bergin (Killenaule) for Brendan Maher (60)
Aidan McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields) for Noel McGrath (66)
Donagh Maher (Burgress) for Ronan Maher (67)


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
18. Darragh Fives (Tourin)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

11. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
20. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)


Tom Devine (Modeligo) for Shanahan (49)
Jake Dillon (De La Salle) for Walsh (50)
Colin Dunford (Colligan) for Gleeson (55)
Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater) for Connors (57)
Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg) for Pauric Mahony (60)

Referee: Brian Gavin (Offaly)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Davy Fitzgerald – ‘If we’re playing Galway, they’ll be baying for blood after what Ger Loughnane said’

Tipperary cruise to Munster minor hurling title with 17-point win over Limerick

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: