This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 15 °C Thursday 13 August, 2020

Tipperary too strong for Waterford and qualify for Munster U21 semi-final with Clare

The Premier county racked up 0-19 in Dungarvan tonight.

Tipperary's Seamus Kennedy.
Tipperary's Seamus Kennedy.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

Tipperary 0-19
Waterford 2-3

TIPPERARY SET UP a Munster U21 semi-final meeting with Clare next week after they impressively despatched Waterford in tonight’s quarter-final tie at the Fraher Field in Dungarvan.

Tipperary, who featured several 2011 All-Ireland minor winners and reached last year’s Munster U21 final, signalled their intentions from the off as they raced into a 0-9 to 0-0 lead by the 21st minute mark.

They were completely on top and 11 players overall weighed in with points over the course of the night. Waterford rallied with a David Hallinan goal before the break to leave it 0-9 to 1-0 in the Premier side’s favour at the interval.

A second goal from Ryan Donnelly, a member of the Waterford senior hurling side, early in the second-half gave Waterford hope but Tipperary upped the ante again to pull clear.

Tipperary were ahead by 0-16 to 2-0 entering the final quarter and even the loss through injury of senior forward Michael Quinlivan, a recent Sigerson Cup winner with UCC, failed to halt their charge.

Greg Henry, Sean Flynn, Joshua Keane, Quinlivan and Liam McGrath all caught the eye in the scoring stakes with the David Power-managed side running out winners by ten points.

Scorers for Tipperary: Greg Henry 0-4, Sean Flynn 0-3 (0-2f), Michael Quinlivan, Joshua Keane, Liam McGrath (0-1f) 0-2 each, John McGrath, Stephen O’Brien, Ian Fahey, Kevin Fahey, Bill Maher, Liam Casey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Waterford: David Hallahan, Ryan Donnelly 1-0 each, Kevin Sheehan 0-2, Gavin Nugent 0-1 (0-1f).

TIPPERARY: Gearoid Slattery (Cashel King Cormacs); Niall O’Sullivan (Moycarkey-Borris), James Feehan (Killenaule), Conor O’Sullivan (Galtee Rovers); Ross Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers), Seamus Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials), Bill Maher (Kilsheelan-Kilcash); Steven O’Brien (Ballina), Colin O’Riordan (JK Brackens); John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney), Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials), Greg Henry (Killenaule); Josh Keane (Golden/Kilfeacle), Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials), Sean Flynn (Fr Sheehys).

WATERFORD: 1. Sean Barron – Ardmore; 2. Brian Looby – Ballinacourty, 3. Ray Kelly – An Rinn, 4. Billy Power – Rathgormack; 5. Paul Connors – Stradbally, 6. Brendan Phelan – Ballinameela, 7. Darren Foley – Clashmore/Kinsalebeg; 8. Kevin Sheehan – Sliabh gCua, 9. Seamus Keating – Ardmore; 10. David Hallihan – Kilmacthomas, 11. Diarmuid Murphy – The Nire, 12. Michael Curry – Rathgormack; 13. Lorcain Ó Corraoin – An Rinn, 14. Gavin Nugent – Rathgormack, 15. Micheal Troy – Modeligo.

Rebel Roar – Strong Cork finish sees off Kerry in Munster U21 quarter final

10th successive Ulster U21 football win for Cavan as they beat Derry tonight

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

TheScore Team

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel