Tommy Grealy/INPHO
reid all about it

2015's Hurler of the Year will be on international duty later this month

TJ Reid has been included in the Irish hurling/shinty team that will face Scotland at Croke Park.

THE 2015 GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year TJ Reid has been included in the Irish hurling/shinty team for their clash with Scotland later this month.

The Kilkenny star is part of an eighteen-man panel, along with Waterford’s Maurice Shanahan, Clare’s David McInerney and Zane Keenan from Laois.

Reid’s presence in the squad should provide the side with a boost after losing in Inverness last month.

The team, managed by Jeffrey Lynskey and Gregory O’Kane, suffered a 3-15 to 2-08 defeat – the biggest Scottish win since 2007.

The return game takes place on 21st November at Croke Park and throws-in at 4.35pm – directly preceding the International Rules clash between Ireland and Australia.

Mickey Burke and Paul MacArthur 25/10/2014 Ireland's Mickey Burke and Paul MacArthur in action during last year's hurling/shinty clash. ©Russell Pritchard / Presseye ©Russell Pritchard / Presseye / Presseye

The squad in full is as follows:

Eoin Reilly (Goalkeeper) (Laois)
Mickey Burke (Meath)
Bernard Deay (Kildare)
Paul Divilly (Kildare)
Damien Healy (Meath)
Zane Keenan (Laois)
Shane Maloney (Galway)
Neal McAuley (Antrim)
David McInerney (Clare)
Derek McNicholas (Westmeath)
Bryan Murphy (Kerry)
Pat Kelly (Kerry)
Shane Nolan (Kerry)
TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
Eoin Price (Westmeath)
Maurice Shanahan (Waterford)
James Togher (Meath)
Matthew Whelan (Captain) (Laois)

Opinion: Philly McMahon’s indiscipline cost him Player of the Year award

Former Wexford captain appointed new London football manager

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.